A Flicker in the Clarity
27%
off

A Flicker in the Clarity

3.47 (145 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Award-winning author Amy McNamara explores the emotional fallout after a girl cuts ties with her best friend. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Evie and Emma are inseparable. Two halves of a whole, they balance each other until Evie makes a flip decision that gets Emma in serious trouble.

Feeling the sting of betrayal, Emma freezes Evie out. Evie is full of regret, desperately sorry, sad, and-for the first time in her life-entirely alone.

Then Evie meets Theo, a boy who offers her a view of the world through a different lens. Just as she lets herself fall for Theo, Emma resurfaces-but not without consequence.

Emma's erratic behavior, drunken mishaps, and panicked phone calls leave Evie afraid there's something deeper going on. Evie wants to help Emma, but Emma is bent on self-destruction.

All Evie wanted was her friend back-but can you help someone who doesn't want to be saved?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 432 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 34mm | 485g
  • HarperTeen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062308343
  • 9780062308344
  • 1,317,459

Review quote

"McNamara's lyrical novel poignantly explores the damange wrought by codependent friendships. With pages teeming with evocative, figurative language and a moving focus on self-discovery, this will appeal to fans of character-driven stories about emotional growth." -- ALA Booklist "Lacerating authenticity. Distressingly plausible. There's a whiff of Fine's amazing The Tulip Touch here in the friendship that's gone too far." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "This is life as it truly is, messy and complicated, for which McNamara presents a perfectly compatible narrative." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "Thoughtfully constructed. McNamara gives readers a story of friendship and learning when it's time to let go." -- Publishers Weekly
show more

About Amy McNamara

Amy McNamara is a writer whose poems have appeared in numerous journals and have been nominated for a Pushcart Prize. Her first novel, Lovely, Dark and Deep, won an ILA Children's and Young Adults' Book Award, was an ABC New Voices Pick, and was nominated as an ALA Best Book for Young Adults. When she's not reading stories, telling stories, or thinking about stories or poems, she can be spotted, camera in hand, documenting the incredible city she calls home. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. Visit her online at www.amymcnamara.com.
show more

Rating details

145 ratings
3.47 out of 5 stars
5 18% (26)
4 30% (44)
3 35% (51)
2 14% (21)
1 2% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X