Flamefall

Flamefall

4.47 (1,009 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Revolutionary flames ignite around Annie, Lee, and a brand new character in the follow-up to FIREBORNE. After fleeing the revolution and settling into the craggy cliffs of New Pythos, the dragonlords are eager to punish their usurpers and reclaim their city. Their first order of business was destroying the Callipolan food supply. Now they're coming for the dragonriders. Annie is Callipolis's new Firstrider, charged with leading the war against New Pythos. But with unrest at home, enforcing the government's rationing program risks turning her into public enemy number one. Lee struggles to find his place after killing kin for a leader who betrayed him. He can support Annie and the other Guardians . . . or join the rebels who look to topple the new regime. Griff, a lowborn dragonrider who serves New Pythos, knows he has no future. And now that Julia Stormscourge is no longer there to protect him, he is called on to sacrifice everything for the lords that oppress his people--or to forge a new path with the Callipolan Firstrider seeking his help. With famine tearing Callipolis apart and the Pythians determined to take back what they lost, it will be up to Annie, Lee, and Griff to decide who--and what--to fight for.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 496 pages
  • 149 x 217 x 38mm | 595g
  • G.P.Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers'
  • United States
  • English
  • 052551824X
  • 9780525518242
  • 233,181

Review quote

Praise for Flamefall ★ "Munda balances nuanced political intrigue and subtle characterizations with thrilling scenes of battle and heartbreaking moments of love and sacrifice . . . this volume will leave readers breathless for more." -Booklist, starred review ★ Much like its predecessor, this second book in the "Aurelian Cycle" trilogy finds its strength in complex, compelling characters and thought-provoking socio-political intrigue. Amid the politics there are plenty of dragon battles, clandestine missions, and secret meetings to keep readers flying through the pages, ending with a nail-biting cliffhanger. Highly recommended for middle and high school readers. --School Library Journal, starred review "Point-of-view chapters show complexities, provoking readers to think. In addition to the central will-they, won't-they love story, there is a lovely subplot with a same-sex, cross-class romance. Exciting aerial battles, political machinations, and a bit of romance make this hard for readers to put down." --Kirkus

"Flamefall is the kind of book that becomes an intensified experience when you read it under the cover of a rainstorm. I was riveted from the moment I opened this book, and let me just tell you, I couldn't imagine this story going the way that it did. It's intricate and so incredibly well thought out. Everything feels like it's being held back for the right moment to be revealed and when it finally is...wow. Get it on your TBR list, because you're going to want it on your shelf!" --The Nerd Daily "Flamefall, takes what worked about Fireborne and builds upon it, crafting a surprisingly thoughtful and multifaced story that provokes readers to think in ways that few other YA trilogies are even attempting at the moment... The sequel is surprisingly thoughtful about the way it discusses politics and systems of government, putting our faves at odds over multiple issues, but in ways that are easy to understand and even support. These are complex problems that don't have easy solutions - even when you have dragons involved - and Flamefall doesn't shy away from showing real, and often terrible consequences on both sides." --Culturess "Flamefall is so much more than just a middle book in a trilogy. This book is absolutely fantastically written and thoroughly plotted. It is riveting right from the start and keeps the reader turning pages all the way until the shocking, cliffhanger end. Riveting, atmospheric, and thought-provoking, Flamefall is a stunning YA fantasy read that will leave the reader breathless. Highly recommend for fans of Red Queen, Shatter The Sky, and Throne of Glass." --YA Books Central
show more

About Rosaria Munda

Rosaria Munda grew up in rural North Carolina, where she climbed trees, read Harry Potter fanfiction, and taught herself Latin. She studied political theory at Princeton and lives with her husband in Chicago. Her debut young adult fantasy, Fireborne, was published in 2019.
show more

Rating details

1,009 ratings
4.47 out of 5 stars
5 58% (586)
4 33% (337)
3 7% (71)
2 1% (9)
1 1% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X