First there was Forever

First there was Forever

3.62 (923 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

* "Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han won't want to miss this sensitive exploration of romantic and platonic relationships in flux." Lima and Hailey have always been best friends: Lima shy and sensitive, Hailey funny and free-spirited. But Hailey abandons Lima to party with the popular kids and pursue Nate, her disinterested crush. As their friendship falters, Lima and Nate begin spending more time together. And before Lima knows what she's feeling, she and Nate do something irreversible. Something that would hurt Hailey....if she knew it happened. Lima thinks she's saving her friendship by lying, but she's only buying time. As the secrets stack up, Lima is forced to make a choice: between her best friend forever, and the boy who wasn't meant to be hers. *Publishers Weekly, starred review
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 139 x 208 x 29mm | 358g
  • SPEAK
  • United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 014751391X
  • 9780147513915
  • 1,554,378

Review Text

"Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han won't want to miss this."-Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

"Rich, intimate, and a pure pleasure to read."-The Los Angeles Review of Books

"An emotionally rich coming-of-age love story."-Kirkus Reviews

"Romano succeeds in capturing the awkwardness of first romantic encounters and in navigating the growing gray areas in life that emerge with age. Hand this one to fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson."-Booklist

"A narrative that addresses "the first time" with such sensitivity and grace."-School Library Journal

"The author weaves her story together with expressive, figurative language...Recommend this novel to older teens who are romance fans."-VOYA

From the Hardcover edition.
show more

Review quote

* "Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han won't want to miss this."--Publishers Weekly, *STARRED REVIEW* "Rich, intimate, and a pure pleasure to read."--The Los Angeles Review of Books "An emotionally rich coming-of-age love story."--Kirkus Reviews "Romano succeeds in capturing the awkwardness of first romantic encounters and in navigating the growing gray areas in life that emerge with age. Hand this one to fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson."--Booklist "A narrative that addresses "the first time" with such sensitivity and grace."--School Library Journal

"The author weaves her story together with expressive, figurative language...Recommend this novel to older teens who are romance fans."--VOYA

From the Hardcover edition.
show more

About Juliana Romano

Juliana Romano grew up in Santa Monica, California. She is a working artist and writer. First There Was Forever is her debut book. Visit her online at www.julianaromano.com and follow her on Twitter @julianafromano
show more

Rating details

923 ratings
3.62 out of 5 stars
5 25% (231)
4 30% (277)
3 30% (281)
2 11% (106)
1 3% (28)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X