First Grave on the Right

First Grave on the Right

4.05 (65,371 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$22.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"First Grave on the Right" is the smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Charley sees dead people. That's right, she sees dead people. And it's her job to convince them to "go into the light." But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e., murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she's been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely. This is a thrilling debut novel from Darynda Jones, an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense. "First Grave on the Right" is the winner of the 2012 Rita Award for Best First Book.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 310 pages
  • 163 x 244 x 31mm | 494g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0312662750
  • 9780312662752
  • 514,447

Review quote

"Sexy, sassy . . . Jones's characters, both living and dead, are colorful and endearing. . . . Cheeky charm . . . sarcastic wit."--The Associated Press "Jones's wickedly witty debut will delight aficionados of such humorous paranormals as Casey Daniels's Pepper Martin Mysteries and Dakota Cassidy's Accidental Friends series."--"Booklist" (starred review)"" "Jones skillfully establishes the novel's setting and keeps up the pace with plenty of action. And let's be honest--the sex is pretty hot, too. Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and other authors of paranormal romance will love this series debut."--"Library Journal" (starred review) "Fast-talking Charley's wicked exuberance and lust for life will appeal to fans of MaryJanice Davidson and Janet Evanovich and maybe fill a hole for those mourning the recently canceled "Ghost Whisperer.""--"Publishers Weekly" "Jones makes a truly memorable debut with her unique tale that is sexy, mysterious, and sarcastically fun!"--"RT Books Reviews" "It's a fun, sexy, exciting read."--"Suspense Magazine" "A true paranormal princess has been proclaimed. Bravo Ms. Jones, you have just hit the big time. . . . A brilliant novel . . . Do not walk; run to get your copy of "First Grave on the Right" when it debuts."--"Night Owl Reviews" "This book is full of surprises and fun to be had for all. I barely finished this book and already can't wait to visit with Charley Davidson again in the next novel, "Second Grave on the Left."" First Grave on the Right" deserves nothing less than a Five Angel, Recommend Read status."--"Fallen Angel Reviews" "Hold on to your hats and get comfortable, you won't want to get up for a long, long time as Charley Davidson sweeps you in and holds on tight."--"The Romance Reviews" "A smashing, award-winning debut novel."--"Goodreads" "In the currently crowded paranormal world, "First Grave on the Right" is a bright beacon of originality. Jones writes with a sharp, addict
show more

About Darynda Jones

DARYNDA JONES lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of more than twenty-five years and two beautiful sons, aka the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys.
show more

Rating details

65,371 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 41% (26,722)
4 34% (22,301)
3 18% (11,498)
2 5% (3,221)
1 2% (1,629)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X