First Grave On The Right
39%
off

First Grave On The Right : Number 1 in series

4.05 (65,371 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Private investigator Charlotte Davidson was born with three things: looks; a healthy respect for the male anatomy; and the rather odd job title of grim reaper. Since the age of five, she has been helping the departed solve the mysteries of their deaths so they can cross. Thus, when three lawyers from the same law firm are murdered, they come to her to find their killer.

In the meantime, Charley's dealing with a being more powerful - and definitely sexier - than any spectre she's ever come across before. With the help of a pain-in-the-ass skip tracer, a dead pubescent gangbanger named Angel, and a lifetime supply of sarcasm, Charley sets out to solve the highest profile case of the year and discovers that dodging bullets isn't nearly as dangerous as falling in love.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 129 x 196 x 21mm | 218g
  • PIATKUS BOOKS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0
  • 0749956046
  • 9780749956042
  • 93,389

Back cover copy

With scorching-hot tension and high-octane humor, "First Grave on the Right" is your signpost to paranormal suspense of the highest order. "This whole grim reaper thing should have come with a manual.""Or a diagram of some kind.""A flowchart would have been nice."""Charley Davidson is a part-time private investigator and full-time grim reaper. Meaning, she sees dead people. Really. And it's her job to convince them to "go into the light." But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (like murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she's been having about an entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely. But what does he want with Charley? And why can't she seem to resist him? And what does she have to lose by giving in?"" "Plenty of action. And let's be honest--the sex is pretty hot, too. --"Library Journal" (starred review) "A true paranormal princess has been proclaimed. Bravo Ms. Jones, you have just hit the big time."--"Night Owl Reviews" "Charley's wicked exuberance and lust for life will appeal to fans of MaryJanice Davidson and Janet Evanovich."--"Publishers Weekly"
show more

Review Text

The best debut novel I've read in years! Hilarious and heart-felt, sexy and surprising, this paranormal has it all: a heroine you want to be best friends with, a mysterious dark hero and a twist at the end that'll knock your socks off. An absolute must read - I'm already begging for the next one! Publishers Weekly
show more

Review quote

First Grave on the Right is smart, sharp and wickedly entertaining. Grab this one -- Jayne Ann Krentz The UF genre just got a major infusion of humour and sass in the form of PI Charley Davidson (aka the Grim Reaper). Jones makes a truly memorable debut * Romantic Times * The best debut novel I've read in years! Hilarious and heart-felt, sexy and surprising, this paranormal has it all: a heroine you want to be best friends with, a mysterious dark hero and a twist at the end that'll knock your socks off. An absolute must read - I'm already begging for the next one! * Publishers Weekly * Jones skilfully establishes the novel's setting and keeps up the pace with plenty of action. And let's be honest--the sex is pretty hot, too. Fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and other authors of paranormal romance will love this series debut * Library Journal, starred review * Jones's wickedly witty debut will delight aficionados of such humorous paranormals as Casey Daniels's Pepper Martin Mysteries and Dakota Cassidy's Accidental Friends series * Booklist, starred review * Sexy [and] sassy . . . Jones's characters, both living and dead, are colourful and endearing * The Associated Press * First Grave on the Right is smart, sharp and wickedly entertaining. Grab this one -- Jayne Ann Krentz, New York Times bestselling author The urban fantasy genre just got a major infusion of humour and sass in the form of PI Charley Davidson (aka the Grim Reaper). Jones makes a truly memorable debut * Romantic Times * The best debut novel I've read in years! Hilarious and heart-felt, sexy and surprising, this paranormal has it all: a heroine you want to be best friends with, a mysterious dark hero and a twist at the end that'll knock your socks off. An absolute must read - I'm already begging for the next one! * Publishers Weekly *
show more

About Darynda Jones

Darynda Jones's writing has won her several awards, including a 2009 Golden Heart in the Paranormal Category for First Grave on the Right. She lives in New Mexico, with her husband of more than 25 years and two sons.
show more

Rating details

65,371 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 41% (26,722)
4 34% (22,301)
3 18% (11,498)
2 5% (3,221)
1 2% (1,629)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X