First Casualty

First Casualty

4.55 (649 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 11-14 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

When Gabriel Wolfe, a government assassin afflicted by PTSD, travels to Africa to recover the body of a former SAS comrade, he has the backing of the British prime minister. But every favour comes at a price.
And now Gabriel has to complete another hit before he can continue his search for salvation.
What he discovers next shakes his faith in everything he trusts. He has marched headlong into the heart of a corrupt web of land deals, blood diamonds and the global arms trade. At the centre of the web sits someone Gabriel can hardly believe is guilty. Someone he'll need every ounce of his skills and resolve to defeat.
Standing between him and the truth are tooled-up mercenaries, a local warlord and his machete-wielding 'Rock and Roll Boys' and a mysterious assassin who anticipates his every move.
"A Cross Between Bond and Reacher"
This complex and breathtaking action thriller is the fourth novel in Andy Maslen's Gabriel Wolfe series. First Casualty begins in the middle of a firefight in Africa, where Gabriel and his partner, Britta Falskog, are facing a crew of bloodthirsty militia fighters commanded by the terrifying Mama Chissano.
The action moves between London, Mozambique, Zimbabwe and Hong Kong and never lets up. As he begins to uncover the truth, Gabriel sees that his adversaries have spun a web of betrayal that stretches right back to his last, fateful mission in the SAS.
Fans of Andy McNab, Chris Ryan, Lee Child and Daniel Silva are saluting Maslen as an author to watch.
If you like your heroes flawed as well as resourceful, you'll love Gabriel Wolfe. He's been called "deadlier than Bond", and "more human than Reacher".
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 500 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 26mm | 662g
  • English
  • 1539048403
  • 9781539048404
  • 3,260,945

About Andy Maslen

Andy Maslen was born in Nottingham, in the UK, home of legendary bowman Robin Hood. Andy once won a medal for archery, although he has never been locked up by the Sheriff. He has worked in a record shop, as a barman, as a door-to-door DIY products salesman and a cook in an Italian restaurant. He eventually landed a job in marketing, writing mailshots to sell business management reports. He spent 10 years in the corporate world before launching a business writing agency, Sunfish, where he writes for clients including The Economist, Christie's and World Vision. Andy completed the first draft of his first novel - Trigger Point - in six weeks, after deciding to embrace his destiny and "be" a writer. He has also published five works of non-fiction, on copywriting and freelancing, with Marshall Cavendish and Kogan Page. He lives in Wiltshire, with his wife, two sons and a whippet named Merlin.
show more

Rating details

649 ratings
4.55 out of 5 stars
5 63% (409)
4 30% (197)
3 6% (39)
2 0% (2)
1 0% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X