The First Assistant

The First Assistant : A Continuing Tale from Behind the Hollywood Curtain

3.65 (5,170 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

For readers of The Devil Wears Prada and The Nanny Diaries, the further fortunes of everyone's favorite assistant as she struggles to keep her footing on Hollywood's slippery slope In the bestselling The Second Assistant, readers fell in love with smart, witty East Coast girl Elizabeth Miller. Now that Lizzie has been promoted, can she still keep her pumps firmly on the ground in the city of stars? With a viperish subordinate after her job, the world's hottest teen starlet to keep out of trouble and a boyfriend on location with a beautiful actress, she certainly has her hands full. The satire is sharper than ever as Naylor and Hare take another wry and hilarious look at the wheeling, dealing, schmoozing, and snubbing that make Hollywood the cutthroat capital of the world. The First Assistant is a lesson in how to survive in a town where tonight's Oscar frock is tomorrow's laughing stock.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 280 pages
  • 145 x 202 x 17mm | 236g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0452288363
  • 9780452288362
  • 1,069,113

Review quote

Praise for The Second Assistant "[A] high-spirited sprint."--New York Times
"[A] wicked romp."--US Weekly
"Make sure it is at the top of your beach bag."--Chicago Tribune
show more

About Clare Naylor

Clare Naylor is the author of several novels, including Love: A User's Guide and Catching Alice. Mimi Hare was, at twenty-three years old, the director of development for a Hollywood production company, where she worked on such feature films as Jerry Maguire and As Good as It Gets.
show more

Rating details

5,170 ratings
3.65 out of 5 stars
5 25% (1,308)
4 30% (1,565)
3 32% (1,639)
2 10% (497)
1 3% (161)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X