Firekeeper's Daughter

Firekeeper's Daughter

4.38 (68,178 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$13.57

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"A ground-breaking YA thriller about a Native American teen who must root out the corruption in her community. For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange


Eighteen-year-old Daunis's mixed heritage has always made her feel like an outsider, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. When she witnesses a shocking murder, she reluctantly agrees to be part of a covert FBI operation into a series of drug-related deaths. In secret, she pursues her own investigation using her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the criminals. However, the deceptions - and deaths - keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home. Now Daunis must decide what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she'll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she's ever known."
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 500 pages
  • 135 x 216 x 44mm | 488g
  • Rock the Boat
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0861540905
  • 9780861540907
  • 199,602

About Angeline Boulley

Angeline Boulley is an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians based in Michigan. She is the former director of the Office of Indian Education at the U.S. Department of Education and gained attention for this debut novel thanks to the non-profit organisation We Need Diverse Books.
show more

Rating details

68,178 ratings
4.38 out of 5 stars
5 53% (36,348)
4 35% (23,578)
3 10% (6,723)
2 2% (1,173)
1 1% (356)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X