The Firebox

The Firebox : Poetry from Britain and Ireland After 1945

  • Electronic book text
By (author) 

List price: US$15.39

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Containing an authoritative selection from the most significant and influential poets to have emerged in the last sixty years, The Firebox is a must-have anthology; a book to grace the shelves of students and general readers, newcomers to the poetry world and its long-standing devotees alike. Not only does it illuminate a vital and fascinating period, and form an invaluable guide to the post-war poets (featuring biographical and critical notes for each poet), it also offers a timely reassessment of the contemporary canon, reaffirming the importance of leading poets while marking the achievement of younger -- and sometimes hitherto neglected -- writers. Thus famous figures including Larkin, Heaney, Plath and Duffy take their place alongside powerful emergent voices such as Ciaran Carson, Jo Shapcott and Kathleen Jamie. Both important and comprehensive, The Firebox is a book to dip in and out of, a book to refer (and defer) to -- and, above all, a book to savour.
show more

Product details

  • Electronic book text | 534 pages
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 144723149X
  • 9781447231493

About Sean O'Brien

Sean O'Brien is a poet, critic, playwright, broadcaster, anthologist and editor. He grew up in Hull and now lives in Newcastle upon Tyne. He is Professor of Poetry at Sheffield Hallam University and teaches on the MA Writing course. His five collections of poetry to date have all won awards, most recently Downriver (Picador, 2001), which won the Forward Prize for best collection. In 2002 Cousin Coat: Selected Poems 1976-2001 was published by Picador. His book of essays on contemporary poetry, The Deregulated Muse (Bloodaxe), was published in 1998. He is currently working on a new verse version of Dante's Inferno, which will be published in 2006.
show more