Fine Imitation
28%
off

Fine Imitation : A Novel

3.6 (1,821 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Set in the glamorous 1920s, A Fine Imitation is an intoxicating debut that sweeps readers into a privileged Manhattan socialite's restless life and the affair with a mysterious painter that upends her world, flashing back to her years at Vassar and the friendship that brought her to the brink of ruin. Vera Bellington has beauty, pedigree, and a penthouse at The Angelus--the most coveted address on Park Avenue. But behind the sparkling social whirl, Vera is living a life of quiet desperation. Her days are an unbroken loop of empty, champagne-soaked socializing, while her nights are silent and cold, spent waiting alone in her cavernous apartment for a husband who seldom comes home. Then Emil Hallan arrives at The Angelus to paint a mural above its glittering subterranean pool. The handsome French artist moves into the building, shrouds his work in secrecy, and piques Vera's curiosity, especially when the painter keeps dodging questions about his past. Is he the man he claims to be? Even as she finds herself increasingly drawn to Hallan's warmth and passion, Vera can't suppress her suspicions. After all, she has plenty of secrets, too--and some of them involve art forgers like her bold, artistically talented former friend, Bea, who years ago, at Vassar, brought Vera to the brink of catastrophe and social exile. When the dangerous mysteries of Emil's past are revealed, Vera faces an impossible choice--whether to cling to her familiar world of privilege and propriety or to risk her future with the enigmatic man who has taken her heart. A Fine Imitation explores what happens when we realize that the life we've always led is not the life we want to have.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 156 x 235 x 30mm | 499g
  • Random House USA Inc
  • Random House US Audio
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1101905115
  • 9781101905111
  • 2,171,718

Review quote

Money. Sex. Intrigue. Amber Brock's debut has all the trappings of a page-turning work of historical fiction. InStyle "Brock s introspective characters, satisfying sub-plots, and unexpected but justified twists elevate the novel from a period romance to a suspenseful peek inside high society s gilded cage." Historical Novels Review "If you love The Great Gatsby, this is your read. theSkimm There s never a dull moment in this debut novel centered on an intriguing and tightly woven story line. Vera s struggles are highly relatable, and the anguish she feels will resonate with countless readers. This surefire hit is certain to be beloved by fans of Beatriz Williams s Along the Infinite Sea and Anton DiSclafani s The After Party. Library Journal, starred "An absorbing tale of art, deception, romance, and forbidden desire." Publishers Weekly "Told from the inside of the gilded cage, A Fine Imitation explores one Manhattan socialite's growing realization that who she's been brought up to be is increasingly at odds with who she is. Although set in a rarified corner of the early twentieth century, this lush, incisive debut novel explores the universal choice between doing what is right versus what is expected." - Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, New York Times bestselling author of Bittersweet "In A Fine Imitation, Amber Brock gives us a portrait of a woman and her times that shines with authenticity and charm. Women especially must read it--here we are, ladies, each and every one of us." -- Anne Rivers Siddons, New York Times bestselling author of Low Country "Rich in color and drama, A Fine Imitation is a sharp and absorbing period piece that skillfully portrays the tensions of social class and love. Fans of Amor Towles and Laura Moriarty will adore Amber Brock a spellbinding new voice in historical fiction. --Erika Robuck, national bestselling author of Hemingway's Girl"show more

About Amber Brock

AMBER BROCK teaches British literature at an all girls' school in Atlanta. She holds an MA from the University of Georgia and lives in Smyrna with her husband, also an English teacher, and their three rescue dogs.show more

Rating details

1,821 ratings
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 18% (321)
4 38% (690)
3 34% (611)
2 9% (166)
1 2% (33)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X