The 5th Wave (Book 1)

The 5th Wave (Book 1)

4.08 (313,561 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.52

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

*NOW A MAJOR FILM by Sony Pictures, starring Chloe Grace Moretz*

'Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' The New York Times

*The 5th Wave is the first book in the bestselling series from award-winning Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and Maze Runner*

After the1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

NOW IS THE DAWN OF THE 5TH WAVE

On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs.
Runs from the beings that only look human, who have scattered Earth's last survivors.

To stay alone is to stay alive, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope.

Now Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death.

www.rickyancey.com
'Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances' Entertainment Weekly

'A modern sci-fi masterpiece . . . Should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires.' USA Today

'The pace is relentless' Heat

'Chilling' Sun

'Nothing short of amazing' Kirkus (starred review)

'This book's scary!' Teen Now (5 starred review)

'A twisty survival story that borrows elements from romance, horror and dystopian fiction'Wall Street Journal
'An epic sci-fi adventure about a terrifying alien invasion. You'll read it in one sitting'Bookseller
'Heartfelt, violent, paranoid epic, filled with big heroics and bigger surprises' Booklist (starred review)

'Gripping' Publishers Weekly

'Borrow this one from your teen's nightstand while they're at school.' People Magazine

*Winner of the 2014 Red House Children's Book Award
*2014 Children's Choice Book Awards Finalist for Teen Book of the Year
*A YALSA 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults
*A YALSA 2014 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers
*A Booklist 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults
*A VOYA 2013 Perfect Ten
*An Amazon Best Book of the Year

Books in the series:
The 5th Wave (Book 1)
The Infinite Sea (Book 2)
The Last Star (Book 3)
show more

Product details

  • 12+
  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 152 x 228 x 32mm | 459.99g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141345810
  • 9780141345819
  • 32,379

Review quote

Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances . . . JUST READ IT * Entertainment Weekly * Wildly entertaining... I couldn't turn the pages fast enough -- Justin Cronin * The New York Times * A modern sci-fi masterpiece... should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires. * USA Today * Nothing short of amazing * Kirkus (starred review) * Chilling * Sun * Action-packed intrigue * MTV.COM * This book is scary! * Teen Now (5 starred review) * Rick Yancey knows his onions... the book packs real power * SFX * This is DAMN and WOW territory. Quite simply, one of the best books I've read in years -- Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author ...a twisty survival story that borrows elements from romance, horror and dystopian fiction * Wall Street Journal * Breathtakingly fast-paced and original, The 5th Wave is a reading tsunami that grabs hold and won't let go. -- Melissa De La Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of the Blue Bloods series. Yancey's heartfelt, violent, paranoid epic, filled with big heroics and bigger surprises, is part War of the Worlds, part Starship Troopers, part Invasion of the Body Snatchers, and part The Stand . . . a sure thing for reviewers and readers alike. * Booklist (starred review) * A fantastic read. The 5th Wave is an electrifying page-turner. -- Kathy Reichs, New York Times bestselling author An epic sci-fi adventure about a terrifying alien invasion. You'll read it in one sitting * Bookseller * A gripping SF trilogy about an Earth decimated by an alien invasion... the question of what it means to be human is at the forefront * Publishers Weekly * Borrow this one from your teen's nightstand while they're at school * People Magazine * By turns heart-pounding and contemplative . . . The 5th Wave will thrill you, chill you, and challenge you to keep the pages turning fast enough * Hypable.com *
show more

About Rick Yancey

Rick Yancey (http://www.rickyancey.com) is the author of several adult novels and the memoir Confessions of a Tax Collector. His first young-adult novel, The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, was a finalist for the Carnegie Medal. In 2010, his novel, The Monstrumologist, received Michael L. Printz Honor, and the sequel, The Curse of the Wendigo, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.
show more

Rating details

313,561 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 42% (131,345)
4 34% (107,405)
3 17% (53,011)
2 5% (14,882)
1 2% (6,918)

Our customer reviews

4.5 stars It has been a while (a very, very long while) since a book has tackled this area of science fiction so incredibly well. It has been a while (maybe too long a while) since I have been genuinely terrified (and maybe even a little thrilled) by the thought of an alien invasion. Believe what you want, but they are out there. Yes, admittedly, they are probably microscopic, leg-less organisms on some distant moon in some distant solar system, but they are out there... My aliens, however, have nothing on the Others. In Cassie's world, half a million people died during the first wave. Another three billion waved goodbye during the second. Come the third wave, and those unlucky enough to have survived the first two faced an airborne virus, The Pestilence or the Red Death. Then there was the fourth wave, which forced the remaining survivors into solitude, ready to be picked off one by one. Cassie is one of them, scouring the empty country with nothing but the items on her back and a trusty M16 by her side. She wonders if she is the last human left on earth, possibly even the last human left in the universe, but she made a promise to her younger brother, one that she is determined to follow through. What she doesn't expect is to stumble across another survivor. Warm, clean Evan Walker.... Whose every trait and sentence is a contradiction. The Fifth Wave isn't just Cassie's story. We are treated to a handle of other perspectives, from the distant Silencer to the guilt-driven Zombie and his team of child soldiers. Cassie's however, is the strongest of these, with an apt amount of bleak humour and sarcasm defining her personality. And not to sound completely sexist, but it is always impressive when an older male author manages to so effortlessly capture the voice of an ordinary teenage girl. Cassie is a true delight here - so very determined and wonderfully amusing. Her reaction to Evan is a little eye-roll-inducing on occasion, but she is, on the whole, a fantastic and well-developed character. Evan demands an equal amount of attention, though for entirely different reasons. There is a little ounce of predictability where his character is concerned, but, for the vast majority of the book, he is incredibly likeable. Without a doubt, Rick Yancey is a clever man, and as much as I enjoyed the brilliantly crafted characters in this, it's the world-building and plot that truly mesmerised. There is a distinct cinematic feel to the story here (movie rights, I see you!), with some wonderful scenes of action and even a hint of psychological thrill. A part of me itched to enter the book myself (the part of me that is convinced that I have survival skills), while the other part of me sat bouncing on the edge of my seat. Yes, this book is exciting. It's also gritty and uncompromising - a combination that only makes the sci-fi nerd in me grin. The ending isn't too excruciating, though it does make me want to get on my knees and beg for the sequel. August, 2014? Who thinks I'll last that long?show more
by Sam
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X