A Fierce and Subtle Poison
25%
off

A Fierce and Subtle Poison

3.23 (1,200 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In this stunning debut, legends collide with reality when a boy is swept into the magical, dangerous world of a girl filled with poison. Everyone knows the legends about the cursed girl--Isabel, the one the senoras whisper about. They say she has green skin and grass for hair, and she feeds on the poisonous plants that fill her family's Caribbean island garden. Some say she can grant wishes; some say her touch can kill. Seventeen-year-old Lucas lives on the mainland most of the year but spends summers with his hotel-developer father in Puerto Rico. He's grown up hearing stories about the cursed girl, and he wants to believe in Isabel and her magic. When letters from Isabel begin mysteriously appearing in his room the same day his new girlfriend disappears, Lucas turns to Isabel for answers--and finds himself lured into her strange and enchanted world. But time is running out for the girl filled with poison, and the more entangled Lucas becomes with Isabel, the less certain he is of escaping with his own life.A Fierce and Subtle Poison beautifully blends magical realism with a page-turning mystery and a dark, starcrossed romance--all delivered in lush, urgent prose. "A breathtaking story in which myths come to frightening life and buried wishes might actually come true. This is a hypnotic debut by a remarkable talent." --Nova Ren Suma, author of The Walls Around Us and Imaginary Girlsshow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 279 pages
  • 150 x 211 x 33mm | 408g
  • Algonquin Books (division of Workman)
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1616205210
  • 9781616205218
  • 477,232

Review quote

"With its sparklingly sinister blend of natural history and magic, of themes that seem both modern and timeless, A Fierce and Subtle Poison gets under the skin." - Chicago Tribune "A breathtaking story in which myths come to frightening life and buried wishes might actually come true." --Nova Ren Suma, author of The Walls Around Us and Imaginary Girls "Samantha Mabry's magical debut is both a chilling mystery and a heartbreaking meditation on love, longing and sacrifice...A Fierce and Subtle Poison will get into your blood." --Laura Ruby, author of Bone Gap "Mabry cultivates a rich setting, offering lush descriptions of the island, its stories, and the sharp divide between the old world and the incoming new one, characterized by swift modernization and the careless destruction of history. Perfect for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon's atmospheric Marina." --Sarah Hunter, Booklist"[Mabry] steeps her debut novel in compelling Caribbean folklore and a lush, evocative setting...Fans of open-ended, atmospheric stories will enjoy the chilling suspense." --Kirkus Reviews"Inspired by Hawthorne's 'Rappaccini's Daughter, ' debut author Mabry blends magical realism with mystery in the story of Lucas Knight, the 17-year-old son of a hotel developer spending his summers in San Juan. Mabry smoothly joins dreamy, fever-induced scenes with the lore of "la ciguapa," a beautiful creature that leads men to insanity or death with a kiss, and her atmospheric ending guarantees goose bumps." --Publishers Weekly"A Fierce and Subtle Poison is a great doorway into magical realism; it uses many of the genre's tropes in a way that feels both modern and self-aware...It's an impressive work; Mabry manages to combine a very romantic view of Puerto Rico with a critique of the poison that is sown by objectifying indigenous peoples and places. The book approaches its themes thoughtfully and with a visceral sense of place: Hurricane winds and the patter of rain against thick leaves are the driving rhythms at its heart. Readers looking for a different kind of fairytale and a sensuous setting will enjoy this foray into a strange and troubled garden." -- NPR.orgshow more

Back cover copy

"A breathtaking story in which myths come to frightening life and buried wishes might actually come true." --Nova Ren Suma, author of The Walls Around Us and Imaginary Girls "How would you describe your condition?" I asked. Isabel didn't respond. Instead, her eyes landed on a wasp, possibly the same one that had been buzzing around my ear earlier. Isabel turned her chin slightly in its direction. She blew out as if extinguishing a candle flame. For a split-second the wasp hovered in the air. Then it dropped dead to the ground. "Samantha Mabry's magical debut is both a chilling mystery and a heartbreaking meditation on love, longing, and sacrifice . . . A Fierce and Subtle Poison will get into your blood." --Laura Ruby, Printz Award-winning author of Bone Gapshow more

Rating details

1,200 ratings
3.23 out of 5 stars
5 11% (129)
4 28% (336)
3 40% (474)
2 18% (213)
1 4% (48)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X