Fiela's Child

Fiela's Child

  • Electronic book text
By (author) 

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


A child wanders too far into the Knysna Forest ...he never returns. Nine years later government officials working on a census find a white child living with a Coloured family in the mountains beyond the forest. They take him away from the stricken Fiela, who has brought him up as her son, and give him back to his 'original' family. Stunned and helpless, Benjamin waits for Fiela to reclaim him. But, powerless against authority, Fiela never comes. Benjamin has to grow up before he can go in search of the truth ...
show more

Product details

  • Electronic book text
  • The Penguin Group (SA) (Pty) Ltd
  • Parklands, South Africa
  • 0143027581
  • 9780143027584

About Dalene Matthee

Acclaimed and well-loved South African writer Dalene Matthee was born in Riversdal in the Western Cape in 1938. After studying and teaching music she began writing children's stories and later short stories and novels for adults in Afrikaans. Her works have been translated into more than fourteen languages. The first to appear in English was the best-selling Circles in a Forest, followed by Fiela's Child - both of which were made into feature films - The Day the Swallows Spoke, The Mulberry Forest and, in 2004, DreamForest. Matthee's writing has won her many awards, including the Afrikaans Language and Cultural Association's Literary Award (three times). Her knowledge of the famous Knysna Forest was legendary and she received an award from the Southern African Institute of Forestry 'in recognition of exceptional service'. Dalene Matthee died in February 2005. Her last novel, Die Uitgespoeldes, was completed shortly before her death. It was published by Penguin Books in 2005 in both its original Afrikaans and in English translation as Driftwood. Both Circles in a Forest and Fiela's Child were reissued as Penguin Modern Classics in 2005.
show more