The Ferryman's Daughter
11%
off

The Ferryman's Daughter : A gripping saga of tragedy, war and hope

4.33 (6 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'A charming book seasoned with romance and a sprinkling of danger' Western Mail



Can Hester help her family escape desperate poverty and fulfil her dreams?

1908: Hester always loved her mother best, her father had always been a hard man to like, spending more time (and money) in the local than with his family. After her mother's sudden death, followed by an injury forcing her father to give up his job as the ferryman, Hester is placed in the position of care-giver for her young brother and sister.

As the years pass Hester must row the ferry night and day to keep them all from starvation, while her hopes of working in a kitchen and one day becoming a cook, slip further and further away.

But just how far is Hester willing to go to make her dream a reality? And as the threat of war comes ever closer to the Cornish coast, will it bring opportunities or despair for Hester and her family?

A gripping family saga perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry, Glenda Young and Mollie Walton. Escape to the Cornish coast and discover a strong woman who will do anything for her family and for her dreams...

Readers are already falling in love with Hester:

'This was a superb read, and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment' Being Anne

'A sublime novel, written deftly, and with a keen attention to detail'

'Lovely family saga book'
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 28mm | 260g
  • Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1409196577
  • 9781409196570
  • 69,752

About Juliet Greenwood

Juliet Greenwood has always been a bookworm and a storyteller, writing her first novel (a sweeping historical epic) at the age of ten. After graduating in English from Lancaster University and with a postgraduate degree from Kings College, London, she worked on a variety of jobs, from running a craft stall at Covent Garden, to teacher, fundraiser and academic editor and proofreader. She has also run her own award-winning charity, with the aid of Lottery funding and grants from BBC Children in Need, focusing on story-telling workshops with adults and children, including for Women's Aid and the NSPCC.

She has previously published three novels, two of which reached the top #5 in the UK kindle store.

Juliet is a passionate lover of gardens and coastal walks, dog walking in all weathers, always with a camera always to hand.
show more

Rating details

6 ratings
4.33 out of 5 stars
5 50% (3)
4 33% (2)
3 17% (1)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X