Federico Moreno Torroba

Federico Moreno Torroba : A Musical Life in Three Acts

5 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?


The last of the Spanish Romantics, composer, conductor, and impresario Federico Moreno Torroba (1891-1982) left his mark on virtually every aspect of Spanish musical culture during a career which spanned six decades, and saw tremendous political and cultural upheavals. After Falla, he was the most important and influential musician: in addition to his creative activities, he was President of the General Society of Authors and Editors and director of the Academy of Fine Arts and Teatro Zarzuela. His enduring contributions as a composer include copious amounts of guitar music composed for Andres Segovia and several highly successful zarzuelas which remain in the repertoire today. Written by two leading experts in the field, Federico Moreno Torroba: A Musical Life in Three Acts explores not only his life and work, but also the relationship of his music to the cultural milieu in which he moved. It sheds particular light on the relationship of Torroba's music and the cultural politics of Francisc
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 162.56 x 236.22 x 35.56mm | 725.74g
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 31 halftones, 51 music examples
  • 0195313704
  • 9780195313703
  • 771,990

Table of contents

Acknowledgements ; Lists of Illustrations and Musical Examples ; INTRODUCTION: "The Eternal Tradition" ; ACT I: 1891-1932 ; Scene i: 1898, The End ; Scene ii: Madrileno ; Scene iii: Analysis of works: La Virgen de mayo, La marchenera, Luisa Fernanda; Suite castellana, Sonatina, Piezas caracteristicas (selections) ; ACT II: 1932-1960 ; Scene i: 1936, Anarchy ; Scene ii: Navarro ; Scene iii: Analysis of works: Azabache, Xuanon, La chulapona, Monte Carmelo, La Caramba; Madronos, Romance de los pinos ; ACT III: 1960-1982 ; Scene i: 1975, The Beginning ; Scene ii: Espanol ; Scene iii: Analysis of works: El poeta; Castillos de Espana (selections), Puertas de Madrid (selections), Dialogos entre guitarra y orquesta, Concierto iberico ; FINALE: The Legacy of Torroba ; APPENDICES 1-2 ; 1: Chronology ; 2: Works List ; BIBLIOGRAPHY ; INDEX
show more

Review quote

Clark and Krause present a concise and well-delivered examination of his life ... the book illuminates an area of musicology that is crying out for attention, and offers the most welcome indication of an idea whose time has come. * Michael Boyd, Music and Letters * This book is an important milestone ... this is a book which is enjoyable and valuable, both as a portrait of the gentle, mildly conservative and yet financially astute composer at its heart, and as a narrative of the tumultuous history and musical culture of his time and place. * Christopher Webber, zarzuela.net *
show more

About William Craig Krause

Walter Aaron Clark is internationally renowned for his research on Spanish and Latin American music. He is the author of Oxford biographies on Isaac Albeniz and Enrique Granados, as well as the series editor of OUP's Currents in Latin American and Iberian Music. He has edited or co-edited books on Latin pop (Routledge), Ibero-American Renaissance music (Pendragon), and the first comprehensive textbook on Latin American music (Norton). He is
the founder/director of the Center for Iberian and Latin American Music at the University of California, Riverside.
William Craig Krause began his research on Moreno Torroba in 1988, resulting in a presentation at the International Musicological Society conference in Madrid in 1992 and the completion of his dissertation in in 1993.
show more

Rating details

1 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (1)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X