Fates
21%
off

Fates

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Julie Kagawa, Rachel Vincent, and Sarah J. Maas, and for girls who love all things pretty, romantic and inspirational. One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything. She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people's fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home. But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she is falling all over again--this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die. In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in? "Different and imaginative."--"Kirkus Reviews "show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 144 x 212 x 32mm | 439.99g
  • Delacorte Press
  • United States
  • English
  • 0385742827
  • 9780385742825
  • 679,253

About Lanie Bross

LANIE BROSS was born in a small town in Maine, where she spent the next 18 years dreaming of bigger places. After exploring city life, she and her husband and two young sons ended up coming right back to the wilds of Maine, where they live just one house down from where she grew up. Fate, perhaps? She loves chasing around her rambunctious kids, playing tug-of-war with her 95-pound Lab, and writing for young adults. "Fates" is her first novel.show more

Our customer reviews

(Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Random House Children's and Netgalley.) Corinthe was once a fate, but now she�?�¢??s an executor. Exiled to the human world for doing something unforgiveable, she had to leave her sister fates behind, and longs to finally go back home to Pyralis. In the human world it is Corinthe�?�¢??s job to collect cloudy marbles from a lake, and ensure that the event/fate inside them is completed, whether it means she needs to push a couple together, cause an accident of some kind, or even in extreme cases kill. Corinthe knows that the fates in the marbles must come to pass no matter what, and works hard to make sure that they happens, all in the hope that one day she will get to go home. When her mentor Miranda gives her a task and tells her that all she has to do is kill one boy to be able to return home, Corinthe knows what she must do, if only things were that simple. Can Corinthe kill Luc? And is Luc or Pyralis her greatest love? This was a bit of a weird story, but I did enjoy the journey. Corinthe was a bit of an odd character. Totally homesick, and needing to go home, having some kind of attachment to nature and feeding from it, and 100% believing in fate, she kind of reminded me of a faerie or something! I did find her unerring faith in her mentor maybe a little misplaced, but she really did believe that everything she was doing was really important, and did desperately want to go home. The storyline in this was a little confusing. The world building took a while to get used to, but even then things were never really crystal clear. I mostly understood what was going on, but this story was pretty weird. Think Alice in wonderland crazy/weird, and you�?�¢??re somewhere near what this book was like. There was some romance in this one, and I think some people might call it insta-love, but come on, this book is called �?�¢??fates�?�¢??, it�?�¢??s not surprising if she meets her fated partner is it?! The romance in this wasn�?�¢??t all-consuming though, and even kind-of crept up out of nowhere at points, so this wasn�?�¢??t your typical romance either. I did find the story a little odd and confusing at times, but I still managed to enjoy this one, even when there was some seriously weird stuff going on. The ending wasn�?�¢??t quite what I expected, and while we didn�?�¢??t exactly get a happily ever after, some things were resolved. It is obvious that this isn�?�¢??t the end of this story though, and it will be interesting to see what happens in the next book! Overall; a strange but enjoyable story. 7.25 out of 10.show more
by Sarah Elizabeth