Far from Home
27%
off

Far from Home

2.96 (127 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption....A story that will impact our own lives profoundly."
--Katrina Kittle, author of The Kindness of Strangers

A wonderful new literary voice in the vein of A. Manette Ansay, Ami McKay, and Joanne Harris, Anne DeGrace makes her U.S. debut with Far From Home--a thoughtful and lovely novel about the chance encounters that can change our lives forever. Paulette Jiles, the New York Times bestselling author of Enemy Women, calls Anne DeGrace "a gifted story teller" and Far From Home "thoroughly enjoyable." The story of a lost teenager who finds herself in a diner in the middle of nowhere, Far From Home is superb introduction for U.S readers to a talented writer who has already made a splash in her native Canada.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 258 pages
  • 134.62 x 200.66 x 17.78mm | 136.08g
  • William Morrow & Company
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0061728802
  • 9780061728808

Review quote

A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption, FAR FROM HOME will change the way you interact with strangers. --Katrina Kittle, author of The Kindness of Strangers"
show more

Back cover copy

After a shocking family betrayal and an unexpected pregnancy, Jo leaves home, college, and everything she knows. Far from home, she finds her way to Cass'sRoadside Cafe, an isolated diner on a mountain pass. Cass's seems as good aplace as any for Jo to get her bearings, as near to nowhere as it is possible to be. Here, Jo finds a rough sort of kindness in diner regulars such as Archie, a long-haul trucker, and Bob, a cop with a secret. But Cass's is also a way station through which an odd assortment of travelers blow: the water witcher, coming to terms with a talent he'd denied; the old woman who expected to die, and didn't; and the hippie whose rule of the road is to let the wind blow him where it will. The stories of these strangers open Jo's eyes to life lessons, and what it really means to follow your heart--and, ultimately, give Jo the strength to face her past, and find the direction she needs to step into her future.
show more

Rating details

127 ratings
2.96 out of 5 stars
5 6% (7)
4 22% (28)
3 40% (51)
2 28% (35)
1 5% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X