Fans of the Impossible Life

Fans of the Impossible Life

3.65 (5,696 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can't get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she's with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who's been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn it's as if he's been expecting this blond, lanky boy with a mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira's gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him . Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira's world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don't understand their quest to live for the impossible.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 145 x 218 x 30mm | 408g
  • English
  • 0062331752
  • 9780062331755
  • 744,081

Back cover copy

Ten months after her recurring depression landed her in the hospital, Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a normal functioning human this time, not a girl who sometimes can't get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she's with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who's been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it's as if he's been expecting him.

Sebby, Mira's gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him like a backlit halo. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and secret road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira's world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don't understand their quest to live for the impossible.

A captivating and profound debut novel, Fans of the Impossible Life is a story about complicated love and the friendships that change you forever.
show more

Review quote

"The characters' stories are so beautifully told and their struggles so hauntingly familiar that they will stay with readers long after they have finished the book." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A deeply moving story about friendship and individuality in an often inhospitable world." -- Nina LaCour, author of Hold Still and Everything Leads to You

"I wish my high school self could read this book. Fans of the Impossible Life perfectly captures the complexity of love, sexuality, and the cost of secrets. Mira, Sebby, and Jeremy will stay with you long after you finish the last page." -- Julie Murphy, author of Dumplin' and Side Effects May Vary

"In this beautiful and devastating novel, Kate Scelsa introduces three of the most memorable and original characters in recent memory. Fans of the Impossible Life is a truly unconventional love story that will challenge everything you think you know about the nature of love and friendship." -- Bennett Madison, author of September Girls

"Rounded characters large and small, drawn with insight and empathy, drive the plot. Buoyant writing and wry humor balance the pathos in this powerful debut, a moving tale of friendship as refuge and shield against a hostile world." -- Kirkus Reviews
show more

Rating details

5,696 ratings
3.65 out of 5 stars
5 23% (1,315)
4 35% (1,971)
3 29% (1,660)
2 10% (580)
1 3% (170)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X