Fangirl
23%
off

Fangirl

4.12 (350,682 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

This special edition includes fan art, a ribbon bookmark, a Q&A with the author, and an excerpt from her new book Carry On. In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life-and she's really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it's what got them through their mother leaving. Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere. Cath's sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can't let go. She doesn't want to. Now that they're going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn't want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She's got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can't stop worrying about her dad, who's loving and fragile and has never really been alone. For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind? A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2013 A New York Times Best Seller!show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 455 pages
  • 144.78 x 203.2 x 43.18mm | 521.63g
  • St. Martin's Griffin
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Special edition
  • Special ed.
  • 1250073804
  • 9781250073808
  • 8,013

Review quote

"Absolutely captivating." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "A funny and tender coming-of-age story that's also the story of a writer finding her voice...touching and utterly real." --Publishers Weekly (starred review) "The magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell's incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling and triumphant relationships...Fans of Eleanor & Park and other bookish, nerdy types will thrill at finding such a fantastic and lasting depiction of one of their own." --Booklist (starred review) "A charming coming-of-age novel...filled with complex subjects (such as divorce, abandonment, and mental illness) handled in a realistic manner, and the writing effortlessly and seamlessly weaves these threads together." --School Library Journal (starred review) "Eleanor & Park reminded me not just what it's like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it's like to be young and in love with a book." --John Green, The New York Times Book Review on Eleanor & Park "This sexy, smart, tender romance thrums with punk rock and true love. Teen readers--not to mention their Gen X parents--will swoon for Eleanor & Park." --Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and Where She Went on Eleanor & Park "A breathless, achingly good read about love and outsiders." --Stephanie Perkins, author of Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door on Eleanor & Park "Sweet, gritty and affecting...an unforgettable story about two misfits in love." --Courtney Summers, author of This is Not a Test and Cracked Up To Be on Eleanor & Park "Rowell shows us the beauty in the broken." --Stewart Lewis, author of You Have Seven Messages on Eleanor & Parkshow more

About Rainbow Rowell

Rainbow Rowell writes books. Sometimes she writes about adults (Attachments and Landline). Sometimes she writes about teenagers (Eleanor & Park, Fangirl, and Carry On). But she always writes about people who talk a lot. And people who feel like they're screwing up. And people who fall in love. When she's not writing, Rainbow is reading comic books, planning Disney World trips and arguing about things that don't really matter in the big scheme of things. She lives in Nebraska with her husband and two sons.show more

Rating details

350,682 ratings
4.12 out of 5 stars
5 45% (156,199)
4 33% (114,615)
3 16% (56,152)
2 4% (15,764)
1 2% (7,952)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X