Fallen Angel

Fallen Angel

4.15 (130 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?


The thrilling and powerful psychological trilogy, reissued to coincide with a major 3 part TV adaptation, Fallen Angel, starring Charles Dance and Emilia Fox, from the bestelling author of `The American Boy'.

`Nobody's perfect,' says a little girl in a walled garden.

Certainly not the child stolen from a shabby London street. Or the sexually frustrated suburban vicar. Or least of all, perhaps, the woman who runs out of good times and comes to perch like a cuckoo in the bosom of a perfect family.

Fallen Angel uncovers the secret history of a murderer, tracing the full damage and horror of an unforgiving killer over forty years. A chilling account of one family's self-destruction, the story slowly strips away the past, like an archaeological dig into the very nature of evil.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 928 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 57mm | 620g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Omnibus edition
  • 0007249594
  • 9780007249596
  • 383,462

Review quote

Praise for the Roth Trilogy:

`Finely crafted...Taylor has established a sound reputation for writing tense novels that perceptively penetrate the human psyche.' The Times

`Marvellous and devilishly clever.' Mail on Sunday

`Exciting, readable and thoroughly amoral.' Daily Telegraph

`The author knows precisely how to wield suspense.' Independent on Sunday

`A major thriller talent.' Time Out

`Skilful, elegant, powerfully atmospheric, in which ancient evil shimmers like images trapped in a corridor of mirrors.' Literary Review

`It deals in the quietest, most civilized way with abominable suffering... a highly sinister piece of work.' Times Literary Supplement

`Complex, with lots of sinister implications... moves the traditional crime novel on to some deeper level of exploration.' Independent

`A highly praised trilogy of novels...they inform not only the heart but the brain since Taylor is a writer blessed with great compassion as well as an unerring eye for historical detail. His flawed heroes and heroines and narrators are people you have met before in the street. Their dilemmas are murderously mundane, but the scale of their tragedies devastating.' Frances Fyfield, Sunday Express

'A fascinating unravelling of the horrors that the past can visit on the present.' Val McDermid
show more

About Andrew Taylor

Andrew Taylor is the award-winning author of a number of crime novels, including the Dougal series, the Lydmouth books and the Roth Trilogy, which was adapted into the acclaimed ITV drama `Fallen Angel'. `The American Boy' was a 2005 Richard & Judy Book Club choice.

He has won many awards, including the CWA John Creasey Award, an Edgar Scroll from the Mystery Writers of America and the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Daggers (the only author to win it twice). He and his wife live with their children in the Forest of Dean.
show more

Rating details

130 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 40% (52)
4 41% (53)
3 14% (18)
2 5% (7)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X