The Falcon Throne

The Falcon Throne : Book One of the Tarnished Crown

3.45 (745 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$23.34

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

EVERY CROWN IS TARNISHED BY THE BLOOD OF AMBITION.

In a divided Kingdom, some will do anything to seize the crown.

A BASTARD LORD, rising up against his tyrant cousin, sheds more blood than he bargained for.

A ROYAL CHILD, believed dead, sets his eyes on regaining his father's stolen throne.

A DUKE'S WIDOW, defending her daughter, defies the ambitious lord who'd control them both.

And TWO BROTHERS, divided by ambition, will learn the true meaning of treachery.

All of this will come to pass, and nothing will remain as it once was. Royal houses will fall, empires will be reborn, and those who seek the Falcon Throne will pay for it in blood.

WITH THE FALCON THRONE, A MAJOR NEW EPIC FANTASY BEGINS.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 688 pages
  • 163 x 242 x 54mm | 1,046g
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1841499595
  • 9781841499598
  • 1,147,677

Review quote

Blood, dirt and backstabbing . . . impressively elaborate and detailed . . . this dark world will draw you in * SCIFINOW * A truly epic read full of intrigue and betrayal anchored in wonderful characters * John Gwynne, author of MALICE * Complex and engrossing; fans of George R.R. Martin and Joe Abercrombie should particularly take note * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY * It will entrap you and hold you captive, you will look up from its pages to discover you have lost hours * APN NETWORK * A writer who seems to set the rule for the genre * WATERSTONE'S BOOKS QUARTERLY * The sheer scope and genius of this series dazzles... stylistically brilliant * SPECULATING ON SPECFIC * Miller is clearly a very talented writer: her characterisation is a masterclass in nuance and sensitivity, and she has a visceral way with action * SFX * Top-notch fantasy . . . a masterclass writer * SFFWORLD * Excellent writing, amazing characters, intricate woven plotlines, and lots and lots of blood, most of that unfortunately spurting from the wrong people. No elves or dragons, but some of the most in-depth world-building I've ever read, and the heroes (and anti-heroes) could shake themselves off the page. This book drew me in with the opening sentence and held me until the end . . . I remain breathless from the read. * LIBRARY THING * Fans of George R.R. Martin, Robert Jordan and other such writers of epic fantasy will find much to like here . . . a compelling read * READING LARK * Miller's numerous fans will definitely stay for the long haul * Sunday Canberra Times * A major new epic fantasy begins * Queensland Times *
show more

About Karen Miller

Karen Miller was born in Vancouver, Canada, and came to Australia with her family when she was two. Apart from a two-year stint in the UK she's lived around Sydney ever since. She has held a variety of interesting jobs and fell in love with speculative fiction at primary school.
show more

Rating details

745 ratings
3.45 out of 5 stars
5 19% (142)
4 34% (251)
3 28% (206)
2 13% (95)
1 7% (51)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X