Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
34%
off

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

3.96 (309,934 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is Jonathan Safran Foer's heartrending New York novel In a vase in a closet, a couple of years after his father died in 9/11, nine-year-old Oskar discovers a key ...The key belonged to his father, he's sure of that. But which of New York's 162 million locks does it open? So begins a quest that takes Oskar - inventor, letter-writer and amateur detective - across New York's five boroughs and into the jumbled lives of friends, relatives and complete strangers. He gets heavy boots, he gives himself little bruises and he inches ever nearer to the heart of a family mystery that stretches back fifty years. But will it take him any closer to, or even further from, his lost father? Moving, literary and innovative, perfect for fans of Lorrie Moore and Nicole Krauss, Jonathan Safran Foer's Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close was made into a major film starring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock, released in 2012. Jonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of Everything is Illuminated, which won the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book award, and Eating Animals, and the editor of A Convergence of Birds.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 30mm | 322.05g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141012692
  • 9780141012698
  • 14,649

Review quote

"[A] dazzling literary high-wire act . . . brilliant . . . The payoff is extraordinary: a fearless, acrobatic, ultimately haunting effort to combine inspired mischief with a grasp of the unthinkable."show more

About Jonathan Safran Foer

Jonathan Safran Foer is the author of Everything Is Illuminated, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Eating Animals and Here I Am. He has also edited a new modern edition of the sacred Jewish Haggadah. Everything Is Illuminated won several literary prizes, including the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book Award. He edited the anthology A Convergence of Birds: Original Fiction and Poetry Inspired by the Work of Joseph Cornell, and his stories have been published in the Paris Review, Conjunctions and the New Yorker. Jonathan Safran Foer teaches Creative Writing at New York University.show more

Rating details

309,934 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 37% (115,876)
4 34% (105,845)
3 19% (59,522)
2 6% (20,046)
1 3% (8,645)

Our customer reviews

I absolutely adored this book. Oskar is the most wonderful character ever! If I ever have kids, I hope they'll have at least a bit of Oskar in them. Also, I found the process of healing very realistic and believable. It is a heartbreaking book and it's beautifully written.show more
by Ioana Bucur
I was moved by this book. I hate to end it and I kept putting it aside so that I will spend more time reading it. Oskar is a gem. I look forward to seeing the film and I hope it will be as good as the film.show more
by Abd Hamid Hassan-Jacob
It's an enchanting and heartbreaking book. I loved Oskar and his quest(s).show more
by Lore
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X