Extra Yarn
5%
off

Extra Yarn

4.08 (19,122 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Hardback | 40 pages
  • 254 x 216 x 15.24mm | 408.23g
  • HarperCollins Childrens Book Group
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • chiefly col. Illustrations
  • 0061953385
  • 9780061953385
  • 75,973

Back cover copy

Extra Yarn, winner of a Caldecott Honor and the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, as well as a New York Times bestseller, is the story of how a young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community.

This much-loved picture book is written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen, who also won the Caldecott Medal for This Is Not My Hat.
show more

Review quote

"There's nothing to say but--perfect." -- Lane Smith, New York Times bestselling author of It's a Book

"Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Klassen's deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett's quirky droll writing." -- School Library Journal (starred review)

"Klassen's pacing, especially the mostly wordless sequence when the box floats back to Annabelle on a triangle of an iceberg, is impeccable. The final spread, all light and yarn-covered tree limbs, brings Barnett's clever, quiet yarn full circle, to a little girl and a town, now colorful and happy." -- Horn Book (starred review)

"Reading like a droll fairy tale, this Barnett-Klassen collaboration is both seamless and magical. The spare, elegant text and art are also infused with plenty of deadpan humor. Quirky and wonderful, this story quietly celebrates a child's ingenuity and her ability to change the world around her." -- Booklist (starred review)
show more

Rating details

19,122 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 45% (8,526)
4 31% (5,833)
3 16% (3,079)
2 6% (1,076)
1 3% (608)

Our customer reviews

Beautiful story: Captivating words, enchanting illustrations.show more
by Laura
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X