Exposed

Exposed

3.72 (2,818 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.
As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,
my forever-best friend."
Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl--sharp, focused and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Confident that she and Kate will be best friends forever.
But everything changes in one blurry night. Suddenly, Kate is avoiding her, and people are looking the other way when she passes in the halls. As the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself shifts out of focus. What happens when the picture you see no longer makes sense? What do you do when you may lose everything you love most? Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, "Exposed" is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 260 pages
  • 149 x 212 x 25mm | 386g
  • Random House Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0375866930
  • 9780375866937
  • 1,379,174

About Kimberly Marcus

KIMBERLY MARCUS lives with her husband and two children near the beach in Massachusetts, not far from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. She is a clinical social worker specializing in the treatment of childhood and adolescent trauma. "Exposed" is her first novel. You can visit her on the Web at KimberlyMarcus.com.
show more

Rating details

2,818 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 29% (831)
4 29% (822)
3 29% (804)
2 10% (268)
1 3% (93)

Our customer reviews

Liz and Katie have been best friends for as long as they both can remember. But that all changes when Katie begins acting strangely. She ignores Liz in the halls, loses interest in her hobbies, and isolates herself from everyone. A confrontation reveals the unimaginable. Katie had been raped, and the rapist was a member of Liz's own family. Liz suddenly finds her life spinning out of control as she struggles to come to terms with Katie's shocking allegations. Will she be able to pick up the pieces of her shattered life, or will her friendship with Katie never recover? Emotional and raw, Kimberly Marcus writes in a brutally honest free verse similar to that of Ellen Hopkins. She reaches to find the true heart and soul of a teenager and is extremely successful. The pain the characters are experiencing is evident in every line, creating a breathtaking piece of literature. EXPOSED is easily one of the best books I have read all year. I couldn't put it down - and neither will you. *Gold Star Award Winner!show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X