The Exact Opposite of Okay

The Exact Opposite of Okay

4.17 (2,005 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Laura Steven simultaneously destroyed the patriarchy and made me laugh so hard I choked. I will protect Izzy O'Neill with my life." --Becky Albertalli, author of SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA

Bitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave, and necessary read for fans of Louise O'Neill and Jennifer Mathieu.

Eighteen-year-old Izzy O'Neill knows exactly who she is--a loyal friend, an aspiring comedian, and a person who believes that milk shakes and Reese's peanut butter cups are major food groups. But after she's caught in a compromising position with the son of a politician, it seems like everyone around her is eager to give her a new label: slut.

Izzy is certain that the whole thing will blow over and she can get back to worrying about how she doesn't reciprocate her best friend Danny's feelings for her and wondering how she is ever going to find a way out of their small town. Only it doesn't.

And while she's used to laughing her way out of any situation, as she finds herself first the center of high school gossip and then in the middle of a national scandal, it's hard even for her to find humor in the situation.

Izzy may be determined not to let anyone else define who she is, but that proves easier said than done when it seems like everyone has something to say about her.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 147 x 211 x 33mm | 386g
  • English
  • 0062877526
  • 9780062877529
  • 1,343,924

Back cover copy

Eighteen-year-old Izzy O'Neill knows exactly who she is--a loyal friend, an aspiring comedian, and a person who believes that milk shakes and Reese's peanut butter cups are major food groups. But after she's caught in a compromising position with the son of a politician, it seems like everyone around her is eager to give her a new label: slut.

Izzy is certain that the whole thing will blow over and she can get back to worrying about how she doesn't recipro-cate her best friend, Danny's, feelings for her and wondering how she is ever going to find a way out of their small town. Only it doesn't. And while she's used to laughing her way out of any situation, as she finds herself first the center of high school gossip and then in the middle of a national scandal, it is hard even for her to find humor in the situation.

Izzy may be determined to not let anyone else define who she is, but that proves easier said than done when it seems like everyone has something to say about her.
show more

Review quote

'Bold, brash, unapologetic, and hilarious, this electric debut is the sex-positive YA novel I've been craving'--Kass Morgan, New York Times bestselling author of The 100
show more

Rating details

2,005 ratings
4.17 out of 5 stars
5 46% (924)
4 34% (682)
3 14% (272)
2 4% (83)
1 2% (44)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X