Evvie Drake Starts Over
28%
off

Evvie Drake Starts Over : The emotional, uplifting, romantic bestseller

4.18 (2,726 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'I guzzled it up' Pandora Sykes, The High Low Show

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON THE TODAY SHOW

'Everything a romantic comedy should be: witty, relatable, and a little complicated' People

'Effortlessly enjoyable . . . [a] pitch-perfect . . . adult love story that is as romantic as it is real' USA Today

It's been a year since Evvie Drake's husband died, but she still can't leave the house. Her best friend Andy thinks it's because she's grieving, and she does nothing to make him think otherwise.

Dean Tenney was once a sports star. Now he's a former sports star who has lost his ability to throw a ball better than anyone else, and he can't even explain why.

When Dean moves into the apartment at the back of Evvie's house, the two make a deal: Dean won't ask about Evvie's dead husband, and Evvie won't ask about Dean's failed career.

But as Dean and Evvie grow closer, could it be that these rules are the one thing in the way of them starting over?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 143 x 219 x 30mm | 422g
  • Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1529396395
  • 9781529396393
  • 11,643

Review quote

Evvie Drake Starts Over is a warm, witty, and wonderful romance about the art of creating second chances-or a whole second act. Linda Holmes's moving, smartly written debut is so engaging, you'll be tempted to wish Evvie could start over yet again, just for a sequel -- Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, bestselling authors of THE ROYAL WIFE A sweet and sincere grown-up love story. Fans of grounded romance will fall hard for Evvie Drake and Dean Tenney, two broken people who help each other mend. Refreshing and real, with a huge heart. I loved it -- Georgia Clark, author of THE REGULARS and THE BUCKET LIST Evvie Drake Starts Over is what happens when great writing, complex and charming characters, and a not-quite-what-you-expect ending collide, making this lovely novel much more than just another romantic comedy. Deeply moving while simultaneously hilarious, you will want to share it with your best friend, but keep your own copy so you can read it again and again -- Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of DREAMS OF FALLING I was utterly charmed by Evvie Drake Starts Over - a book that shows us that just because you're broken doesn't mean you can't be put back together again. You'll want to stay cozied up with these delightful, unique, and incredibly human characters long after you turn the last page -- Doree Shafrir, author of STARTUP: A NOVEL and co-host of Forever35 Podcast A witty blend of romance and reflection . . . wraps you in the cozy warmth of small-town Maine and delves into the complexities of the human heart -- Helen Hoag, author of THE KISS QUOTIENT Holmes writes with an easy warmth about kind people who are trying their best but messing things up anyway. . . . A warm and lovely romance, perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell and Louise Miller * Kirkus * A quirky, sweet, and splendid story of a woman coming into her own . . . an absolute delight -- Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of DAISY JONES AND THE SIX Charming, hopeful and gently romantic. Evvie Drake is great company -- Rainbow Rowell
show more

About Linda Holmes

Linda Holmes is a pop culture correspondent for National Public Radio and the host of the podcast Pop Culture Happy Hour, which has held sold- out live shows in New York, Los Angeles, Washington, and elsewhere. She appears regularly on NPR's radio shows including Morning Edition, All Things Considered, and Weekend Edition. Before NPR, she wrote for New York magazine online and for TV Guide, as well as for the influential website Television Without Pity. She shares her Washington, D.C., apartment with a dog who patiently indulges her desire to take his picture a lot. In her free time, she watches far too many romantic comedies, bakes bread, reads in bed, and recently knitted her first hat.
show more

Rating details

2,726 ratings
4.18 out of 5 stars
5 38% (1,024)
4 46% (1,267)
3 13% (364)
2 2% (53)
1 1% (18)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X