Every Other Weekend

Every Other Weekend

3.96 (5,214 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
3.96 (5,214 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 16-21 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A sparkling, nuanced, and emotional read for fans of Morgan Matson and Julie Buxbaum.

Heartbreak pushed them together. Will love pull them apart?

When Adam Moynihan's oldest brother died, his life fell apart around him. Now his mom cries constantly, he and his remaining brother can't talk without fighting, and the father he always admired moved out when they needed him most.

Jolene Timber is used to being a pawn in her divorced parents' war. But when she develops an unlikely friendship with a boy who spends every other weekend in the same apartment building that she does, suddenly the future seems less bleak.

Can the boy who thinks forgiveness makes him weak and the girl who thinks love is for fools find something real together? They'll find out...every other weekend.

"A must read!" --Samantha Young, New York Times bestselling author of The Fragile Ordinary and On Dublin Street

Also by Abigail Johnson:
Even If I Fall
The First to Know
If I Fix You
show more

Product details

  • 12-15
  • Hardback | 512 pages
  • 147 x 211 x 41mm | 476g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 1335929096
  • 9781335929099
  • 466,902

Review quote

"This is a coming-of-age story with real heart and authenticity. A must read!"-Samantha Young, New York Times bestselling author of The Fragile Ordinary and On Dublin Street, on Every Other Weekend

"A poignant, painful, and stirring story about two kids trying to navigate divorce, first love, and finding your dreams."-Kathleen Glasgow, author of Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends with the Dark, on Every Other Weekend

"Every Other Weekend handles sensitive family issues with honesty, amidst the fresh, emotive backdrop of Johnson's stunning prose. Adam and Jolene spark the page with their wit. And they'll slide into your heart as they discover each other's."-Laura Taylor Namey, author of The Library of Lost Things

"Johnson beautifully evokes the tender romance that eventually builds between them [Adam and Jolene] after their first encounters, offering readers access to the two teens' inner thoughts and fragile psyches. Jolene's loneliness, especially, will break hearts... The positive, not overly simplistic resolution to the complicated story will touch readers." -Booklist

"Johnson (Even If I Fall, 2019, etc.) has written a complex and emotionally charged character-driven story that explores a variety of painfully human themes, including loss and emotional abuse. Adam's and Jolene's struggles will draw readers in, and the slow-burning romance will touch readers' hearts... Heart-wrenching and hopeful-a reminder that we can change our stories."-Kirkus Reviews

"In addition to the tender love story, the book takes on a number of important issues for young adults including divorce, loss, grief, family dynamics, relationship control, and sexual assault. The two main characters are well developed and teen readers will easily empathize with their emotions, their family conflicts, and the events that unfold in their lives... Romance fans will especially enjoy this title, as it delves into many family and relationship issues."-School Library Journal on Every Other Weekend
show more

Rating details

3.96 out of 5 stars
- 5,214 ratings
5 32% (1,673)
4 40% (2,076)
3 21% (1,112)
2 5% (267)
1 2% (86)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X