Eve
25%
off

Eve

3.69 (37,980 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The first book in Anna Carey's chilling Eve trilogy, Eve is perfect for fans of The Handmaiden's Tale. After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth's population, the world is a terrifying place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has grown up isolated from the rest of the destroyed world in an all-girls school. But it isn't until the night before her graduation that she discovers what her duties will be once she graduates.To avoid the horrifying fate that awaits her, Eve flees the only home she's ever known. On the run, she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Eve knows she shouldn't trust him, but he slowly wins her confidence...and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.Eve is the first book in Anna Carey's trilogy, full of romance, adventure, sacrifice, all set in a near future that is both wonderfully strange, and chillingly familiar.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 134.62 x 203.2 x 22.86mm | 294.83g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062048511
  • 9780062048516
  • 51,363

Review quote

"A gripping, unforgettable adventure-and a fresh look at what it means to love." -- Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN
show more

Back cover copy

Where do you go when nowhere is safe?

After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth's population, the world is a terrifying place.

Eighteen-year-old Eve has never been beyond the heavily guarded perimeter of her school, where she and two hundred other orphaned girls have been promised a bright future in The New America. But the night before graduation, Eve learns the shocking truth about her school's real purpose--and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Fleeing the only home she's ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive. Along the way she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Caleb slowly wins her trust . . . and her heart. But when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.
show more

About Anna Carey

Anna Carey graduated from New York University and has an MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. She lives in Los Angeles.
show more

Review Text

"A gripping, unforgettable adventure-and a fresh look at what it means to love." Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN
show more

Rating details

37,980 ratings
3.69 out of 5 stars
5 28% (10,468)
4 32% (12,028)
3 27% (10,284)
2 10% (3,721)
1 4% (1,479)

Our customer reviews

„The year is 2032, sixteen years after a deadly virus—and the vaccine intended to protect against it—wiped out most of the earth’s population. The night before eighteen-year-old Eve’s graduation from her all-girls school she discovers what really happens to new graduates, and the horrifying fate that awaits her.“ You see, EVE is yet another novel with dystopian setting. We follow Eve, who breaks out of her protected school where she’s lived since her mother’s death and escapes into the wild, headed to promised safe place Califia together with Caleb, a boy she meets on her way there. The contrast between EVE’s sheltered life in the girls school and her life outside the protecting walls offers many options for the story to proceed. But everything in the story felt rushed and it was like I only got a glimpse of school, the wilderness or Eve’s love life. In the end, I fear, the story didn't really left an impression on me that would last much longer than the actual reading process. The story wasn’t as thrilling as I’d expected Eve’s fight in the wilderness to be and, I hate to say it... a bit plain. Even I was surprised when I noticed in the end that Eve and Caleb’s relationship didn’t really interest me. They were both rather lacklustre characters. It were other characters like tough Arden that I wanted to know more about. I would like to recommend EVE to people who enjoyed GRACELING by Kristin Cashore (a book that ironically I didn't enjoy either). The writing style wasn't my thing either. Some parts of the story were described in vast expansion and the most action-packed and shocking felt like they fell flat in their impact. The devastating plague had great potential. It didn't seem it was used best. 2/5 ** EVE - Not exactly a read that leaves you breathless. Eve wasn't a heroine to me, she mostly appeared to be a helpless little girl without any knowledge about the real world. I have to give her credit for her courage to let go of the known and flee into a world that's foreign to her. Her character reflects on the story as a whole which doesn't serve in turning up the action-factor of EVE.show more
by MissPageTurner
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X