Evalene's Number

Evalene's Number : The Number Series

4.21 (119 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent will love Evalene's Number and its incredible dystopian tale by Amazon bestselling author Bethany Atazadeh.

Everyone in Eden is assigned a Number, tattooed on their neck, which determines their value and place in the world.

On her Numbering Day, Evalene Vandereth anticipates joining the élite. Born in an upper-class family, she knows exactly who she is and what she is worth. Even as the needle breaks her skin, she is blissfully happy. She never considers another outcome, until it's too late.

Now 18-year-old Evalene lives in fear, struggling with her new identity, stripped of her freedom and basic human rights. Can she escape her Number? Is anyone else asking the same question?

"A rigorous apocalyptic backdrop and versatile characters supply seemingly endless avenues for further volumes to explore."

- Kirkus Reviews

2nd edition, previously published December 2017.

Don't miss PEARL'S NUMBER, the thrilling sequel in the bestselling Number Series!

______________________________

What Early Readers are Saying:

"This is a book you simply can't put down... I can't wait for the second one to come!"

"I loved this novel. The characters that Bethany created were so heartfelt."

"This book is an entertaining read, and easy to devour in just a few days."

"I feel like the plot is completely relatable to our society now and the idea of rating people and social media contributing to this idea that other people define yourself worth... I can't say enough how much I enjoyed this story."

"The story draws you in so quickly you don't want to put it down."

"This was the first book that has ever made me cry. The way Evalene stood up for what she believed in made me tear up big time."

"The writing was descriptive, and flowed nicely. I enjoyed it a lot! I would never have guessed that it was the author's first book."

"I thoroughly enjoyed this book... I'm very excited to read the sequel to this. I was just so impressed that this story intrigued me so much, and I finished the book very quickly."

"The plot kept me hooked... The suspense at certain points was almost unbearable. I needed to know what happened. I think the way that inequalities between the Numbers is written is so relevant to inequalities in our own society, too. Oh, and the ending! I've been left on a massive cliffhanger, and honestly? I just want to jump off if it'll mean finding out what happens next. It's safe to say I am very eager to read the next book, Pearl's Number."

Book 1 of 2 in a completed series.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 396 pages
  • 133 x 203 x 21mm | 408g
  • English
  • 2nd New Cover ed.
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0999536850
  • 9780999536858

Review quote

"A rigorous apocaplytic backdrop and versatile characters supply seemingly endless avenues for further volumes to explore."

- Kirkus Reviews
show more

Rating details

119 ratings
4.21 out of 5 stars
5 49% (58)
4 30% (36)
3 15% (18)
2 5% (6)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X