Essays in Musical Analysis: Symphonies and Other Orchestral Music v. 2

Essays in Musical Analysis: Symphonies and Other Orchestral Music v. 2

4.5 (8 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$14.96

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This is a collection of 115 critical essays based upon the author's programme notes for concerts with the Reid Orchestra in Edinburgh. They include all of Brahms' overtures and symphonies, 11 symphonies by Haydn, six by Mozart, three each by Schubert, Schumann and Sibelius and many works by Beethoven. Sir Donald Tovey, perhaps best known for his "Essays in Musical Analysis", is also the author of "Beethoven", "Chamber Music" and "Concertos and Choral Works".show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 576 pages
  • 136 x 212 x 36mm | 739.35g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Paperbacks
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Revised
  • 2nd Revised edition
  • index
  • 0193151472
  • 9780193151475

About Sir Donald Francis Tovey

About the Author Sir Donald Francis Tovey was Reid Professor of Music at Edinburgh University for many years, as well as a pianist, composer, conductor, and writer on more

Table of contents

J.S.Bach; C.P.E.Bach; Beethoven; Berlioz; Brahms; Bruckner; Dvorak; Elgar; Franck; Haydn; Gustav Holst; Mahler; Mendelssohn; Mozart; Schubert; Schumann; Sibelius; Smetana; Richard Strauss; Tchaikovsky; Vaughan Williams; Wagner; more

Rating details

8 ratings
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 62% (5)
4 25% (2)
3 12% (1)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X