Eros the Bittersweet
21%
off

Eros the Bittersweet

4.42 (1,552 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A book about romantic love, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her, " Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 190 pages
  • 139.7 x 210.82 x 17.78mm | 136.08g
  • Dalkey Archive Press
  • Normal, IL, United States
  • English
  • 1564781887
  • 9781564781888
  • 22,025

Review quote

Anne Carson is a rare talent-brilliant and full of wit, passionate and also deeply moving.--Michael Ondaatjeshow more

Back cover copy

A book about romantic love, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her", Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.show more

About Anne Carson

Anne Carson is the author of "Glass, Irony and God"; "Autobiography of Red"; "The Beauty of the Husband"; "Men in the Off Hours"; and other books.show more

Rating details

1,552 ratings
4.42 out of 5 stars
5 58% (901)
4 30% (467)
3 9% (143)
2 2% (32)
1 1% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X