Equality

Equality : What Do You Think about When You Think of Equality?

4.37 (8 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the tradition of Dr. Martin Luther King's Stride Toward Freedom and Malala Yousafzai's, I Am Malala, Equality: What Do You Think About When You Think of Equality? presents thought-provoking and compelling personal essays that probe a concept professed to be the very foundation of our democracy--a concept that may even be more vital today than in the past. From international bestselling author, Anne Perry who asserts we must look within ourselves to our emotions, experiences, and beliefs before we attempt an honest and truthful answer, to Dennis Palumbo, psychotherapist and author, who claims diagnostic labels used in treating mental illness often stigmatize and dehumanize the patient causing clinicians to view their patients in terms of their diagnosis rather than people, and Barbara Abercrombie, writer and distinguished university professor, who explores ageism as yet another form of stereotyping and discrimination in the language we use to describe older adults. These award-winning and best-selling writers, and twenty-two more, tackle equality across multiple spectrums--racial, social, political, religious, marital, gender--and run with it in surprising directions.show more

Product details

  • Paperback
  • 133 x 203 x 12mm | 236g
  • Vine Leaves Press
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1925417263
  • 9781925417265

Review quote

..". forces us to take a close look at our beliefs, our fears-and yes-even those prejudices we would rather not acknowledge." Caroline Leavitt, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author ***** "Oh, how I love this book, this collection-thank you, a million times ... Equality, has come at the perfect time. The world is in need of this book; I would go so far as calling it a Bible. Written by 25 amazing writers, authors, activists, it would stand as a vital read, but as a collection should be on everyone's shelf, or better yet, night table. It is a reminder of how far we have come, and how much further we must travel, and how, when we stand up-either alone or collectively-we become the occasion that we are rising to." Amy Ferris, editor, screenwriter and author of Marrying George Clooney: Confessions From A Midlife Crisis ***** ..". a carnival of intellectual provocation. Moving and inspiring, these are essays that move us forward to imagine endless possibilities." Michael Bronski, author of A Queer History of the United States, and Professor of the Practice in Activism and Media Studies of Women, Gender and Sexuality Harvard University. ***** "Some sombre, some bright, these beautifully crafted essays on equality lay out the amazing breadth of a struggle that's achieved so much and still has so far to go." Richard Stevenson, author of the Don Strachey private eye novels ***** ..". the perfect antidote to current politics in America. Instead of pontificating and posing, each writer takes on the subject matter with a sense of both urgency and introspection, and by the end of the book you feel edified, as well as quite a bit saner." Keith Banner, author of Next to Nothing and The Smallest People Alive ***** "Equality taps into the talent of many to explore the depth and breadth of this sensitive topic in ways that will enlighten your mind and feed your soul." Anna Unkovich, co-author of Chicken Soup for the Soul in the Classroom, and Caring To Teach, Teaching To Care ***** "Equality is actually about living the truth. This brave new collection ... bring[s] a queer-focused human voice to the idea and necessity of it." Perry Brass, author of IPPY Award winning The Manly Pursuit of Desire and Love ***** "The stories in this collection will settle gently and deeply into the reader's thoughts and will, most likely, spur a steady desire to attend to equality of every kind." Leeza Carlone Steindorf, speaker, trainer, mediator, coach, award-winning author of Connected Parent, Empowered Child: Five Keys to Raising Happy, Confident, Responsible Kids-A CORE Success(r) Guide ***** "Some concepts seem so basic, we tend to assume they mean the same thing to all of us. In this compelling anthology, a diverse group of writers demonstrate that all views are not equal-even when the concept in question is equality itself. Ranging from the historical and political to the deeply personal, these essays examine what equality-or, more pointedly, inequality-means in the lives of real people. Encompassing race, sex, age, sexual orientation, and other prisms of experience, Equality is a fascinating and enlightening read. Each author provides a glimpse into the delicate balance between equality of personhood and respect for the diverse aspects of human identity. Together, these essays paint a moving, even occasionally comic, portrait of the varied paths we all take to proclaim our rights while respecting and holding onto the specific things that make us who we are. The particular subjects and perspectives of each author create a quilt of experience, suggesting that our very difference as individuals is key to our equality, perhaps the one thing we have most in common." Lewis DeSimone, author of Channeling Morgan and The Heart's Historyshow more

Rating details

8 ratings
4.37 out of 5 stars
5 75% (6)
4 12% (1)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 12% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X