English Landscapes

English Landscapes

By (author)  , Photographs by 

List price: US$24.96

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


From Penzance to Penrith, Talbot and Whiteman have explored the country region by region, documenting landmarks and scenery. They have put their unique talents to work to accurately convey the spirit of a place: whether it be the lush landscape, fine architecture and intriguing mythology of Wessex; the high peaks, wild fells, spectacular waterfalls and secluded valleys of the Lake District; or the wooded hills, open heathland and coastal plains of the southern counties. Rob Talbot's stunning display of landscape photography is perfectly complemented by Robin Whiteman's text which concisely describes every aspect of a region -- from its history, literary and artistic connections, to its geography, geology, architecture, agriculture and local customs.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 160 pages
  • 264.16 x 292.1 x 20.32mm | 1,247.37g
  • Orion Publishing Co
  • Weidenfeld Nicolson Illustrated
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 0753800365
  • 9780753800362

Table of contents

Introduction The North-East The North-West The Midlands The East The South-East The South-West Selected Properties and Regional Offices Photographic Information Bibliography Indexshow more

About Robin Whiteman

Robin Whiteman and Rob Talbot have been working together for over ten years, producing books which chronicle the beauty and diversity of the British countryside. They have distinguished themselves as regional chroniclers of the highest order, combining words and pictures to exalt the splendour of the British Isles. Robin Whiteman and Rob Talbot have both distinguished themselves as a regional chronicler and outstanding landscape photographer respectively, with their Country Series collaborations. Their work has met with great critical acclaim and together they have produced nine other Country Series volumes: The Cotswolds, the English Lakes, The Yorkshire Moors and Dales, the Garden of England, The West Country, Wessex, The Heart of England, the Peak District and England.show more