The End of the Poem

The End of the Poem : Oxford Lectures

3.85 (92 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Hardback
By (author) 

List price: US$34.76

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The End of the Poem contains the fifteen lectures delivered by Paul Muldoon during his tenure as Oxford Professor of Poetry, from 1999 to 2004. Rather than individual and discreet performances, these lectures form a dazzling set of variations around the sustained theme of 'the end of the poem'.

Each lecture explores a different sense of an ending: whether a poem can ever be a free-standing structure, read and written in isolation from other poems; whether a poem's line-endings are forms of closure (and where this might leave the poem in prose); whether the poem is completed only with the reader's act of understanding; whether there is an 'end' in 'gender', and if poems have political ends; whether a poem may be completed - as opposed to undone - by the act of translation from one language to another; whether revision brings a poem nearer to its ideal ending (when does a poet know when a poem has come to an end?); finally, what is the right true end of poetry, and is the end of the poem the beginning of criticism, including an Arnoldian 'criticism of life'.

Each lecture focuses upon an individual poem, with examples mostly drawn from twentieth century poets such as Yeats, Frost, Elizabeth Bishop, Stevie Smith, Lowell, Marianne Moore - with a notable emphasis on European poets such as Pessoa, Tsvetayeva and Montale.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 432 pages
  • 161 x 236 x 32mm | 675g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • Main
  • 0571227406
  • 9780571227402
  • 881,898

Review quote

"'A major poet, Muldoon continues to outshine his contemporaries.' Stephen Knight, Independent on Sunday 'The meaning and the impact of the poems unfurl and resound slowly but surely, poignantly and eloquently'. William Boyd, Guardian"
show more

About Paul Muldoon

Paul Muldoon was born in County Armagh in 1951. He read English at Queen's University, Belfast, and published his first collection of poems, New Weather in 1973. He is the author of nine books of poetry, including Mules (1977), Why Brownlee Left (1980), Quoof (1983), Meeting The British (1987), Madoc: A Mystery (1990), The Annals of Chile (1994), Hay (1998) and Moy Sand and Gravel (2002) for which he received the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry. Since 1987 he has lived in the United States, where he is the Howard G. B. Clark Professor in the Humanities at Princeton University. In 1999 he became the Professor of Poetry at Oxford University. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, Paul Muldoon was given an American Academy of Arts and Letters award in 1996. Other recent awards are the 1994 T. S. Eliot Prize, the 1997 Irish Times Poetry Prize, the 2003 Griffin Prize, the 2004 American Ireland Fund Literary Award, and the 2004 Shakespeare Prize, given "for contributions from English-speaking Europe to the European cultural heritage".
show more

Rating details

92 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 24% (22)
4 48% (44)
3 21% (19)
2 4% (4)
1 3% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X