Empire Ascendant

Empire Ascendant : The Second Book in the Worldbreaker Saga Series

3.85 (1,234 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Loyalties are tested when worlds collide...Every two thousand years, the dark star Oma appears in the sky, bringing with it a tide of death and destruction. And those who survive must contend with friends and enemies newly imbued with violent powers. The kingdom of Saiduan already lies in ruin, decimated by invaders from another world who share the faces of those they seek to destroy.Now the nation of Dhai is under siege by the same force. Their only hope for survival lies in the hands of an illegitimate ruler and a scullery maid with a powerful - but unpredictable - magic. As the foreign Empire spreads across the world like a disease, one of their former allies takes up her Empress's sword again to unseat them, and two enslaved scholars begin a treacherous journey home with a long-lost secret that they hope is the key to the Empire's undoing.But when the enemy shares your own face, who can be trusted?File Under: Fantasy [ Empire of Fire | Duplicates at War | The Royal Exchange | All Will Fall ]
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 58mm | 528g
  • Angry Robot
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 0857665588
  • 9780857665584
  • 291,216

Review quote

"Empire Ascendant is a masterful addition to the epic fantasy genre." "Recommended for fans of Game of Thrones and The Emperor's Blades. Intricate, unforgiving, and fascinating." "Empire Ascendant is not just a very good fantasy novel, but a great one - and one very highly recommended." "Everything about it is better, greater, grander than what came before." "If you love digging deep into worlds and relationships among divergent people, as well as exploring what makes people tick, then I think you'll really like this series." "It's epic in the truest sense of the world, and fantastic in a completely original and inventive way." "Kameron Hurley's Worldbreaker Saga blends science fiction and fantasy elements together in exciting and innovative ways"
show more

About Kameron Hurley

KAMERON HURLEY is an award-winning author, advertising copywriter and online scribe. She has won the Hugo Award, Kitschy Award, and Sydney J Bounds Award for Best Newcomer; she has also been a finalist for the Arthur C Clarke Award, Nebula Award, Locus Award, BFS Award, the David Gemmell Morningstar Award, and the BSFA Award for Best Novel. Her non-fiction has been featured in The Atlantic, Locus, and the game-changing collection The Geek Feminist Revolution.
show more

Rating details

1,234 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 25% (306)
4 44% (546)
3 24% (301)
2 5% (62)
1 2% (19)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X