The Emperor's Knife
36%
off

The Emperor's Knife : Tower and Knife Book I

3.29 (1,967 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Only a forgotten prince and a girl from the grasslands can stop the Patttern Master in this 'compelling and wholly convincing fantasy' (Ben Aaronovitch, author of The Rivers of London). Written under a pseudonym by a Sunday Times bestselling author and a critically acclaimed writer, this 'riveting and intense novel' (Publishers Weekly) is perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and Brandon Sanderson.

There is a cancer at the heart of the mighty Cerani empire: a plague that first marks its victims, then covers their skin in geometric patterns until they die in agony - or are subsumed, their bodies now in thrall to the Pattern Master. Emperor Beyon's law is that any hint of the pattern means death, before they become another puppet for the sorcerer to use for his evil ends - to see the Cerani Empire reduced to dust and whispers.

No one but his mother knows the emperor himself is infected, and so she looks to her only other living son, Prince Sarmin, locked in a tower since Beyon ascended the throne. A bride is chosen, a girl from the grasslands quite unused to the politics and intrigue of the imperial court - but she is strong-willed and determined, and she once saw a path in a pattern in the waving grasses: a path that might just save them all.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 161 x 198 x 32mm | 318g
  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0857388037
  • 9780857388032
  • 275,919

Review quote

'A rich and entertaining storytelling environment ... The characters are well drawn: believably ambitious and conflicted individuals who struggle to survive in a maze of tradition and intrigue ... this is strongly recommended' SFX. * SFX * 'The Emperor's Knife is a must read - it's fresh, exciting and the Tower and Knife trilogy looks set to get even better!' fantasy-faction.com. * fantasy-faction.com * 'From its shocking opening chapter to its tense climax this novel puts great writing to the service of vivid characters, a compelling plot and a wholly convincing fantasy world' Ben Aaronovitch, author of the Top Ten bestseller Moon Over Soho. * Ben Aaronovitch *
show more

About Mazarkis Williams

Mazarkis Williams is the pseudonym of a Sunday Times bestselling and award-winning fantasy author and a critically acclaimed American writer. The Tower and Knife trilogy is their first joint project: the three-book Silk Road fantasy set in a political Oriental world filled with betrayal and intrigue.
show more

Rating details

1,967 ratings
3.29 out of 5 stars
5 15% (287)
4 27% (536)
3 37% (735)
2 15% (296)
1 6% (113)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X