Eliza and Her Monsters
10%
off

Eliza and Her Monsters

4.4 (62 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she's worked for begins to crumble. Scott Westerfeld's Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up. In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza's persona is popular. Eliza can't imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza's secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she's built-her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity-begins to fall apart.With pages from Eliza's webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza's online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson's Nimona and Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 35mm | 536g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Greenwillow Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062290134
  • 9780062290137
  • 1,456

Review quote

"A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and her Monsters is absolutely magical." -- Marieke Nijkamp, New York Times bestselling author of This Is Where It Ends "Creator of an astonishingly successful webcomic...Eliza finds her voice...A wrenching depiction of depression and anxiety, respectful to fandom, online-only friendship, and the benefits and dangers of internet fame." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "In her sophomore novel, Zappia gracefully examines Eliza's complicated struggle with anxiety, depression...peppered with detailed illustrations from Eliza's webcomic, drawn by Zappia herself. A fervent celebration of online fandom." -- Booklist (starred review) "Told in a series of letters, instant messages, comics, and prose, this book focuses on relationships and identity. ...will resonate with teens who write, create art, and love fandom. ...A must-have for all YA collections, especially where geek culture is celebrated." -- School Library Journal (starred review)show more

About Francesca Zappia

Francesca Zappia lives in central Indiana. When she is not writing, she's drawing her characters, reading, or playing video games. She is also the author of Made You Up and Eliza Mirk's favorite, The Children of Hypnos, a biweekly serial novel posted on Tumblr and Wattpad. www.francescazappia.comshow more

Rating details

62 ratings
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 53% (33)
4 35% (22)
3 10% (6)
2 2% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X