Elementals

Elementals

3.29 (226 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Kate Witherspoon has lived a bohemian life with her artist parents. In 1917, the new art form ofthe motion picture is changing entertainment and Kate is determined to become a director. Meanwhile, midwestern farm boy Julian Birch has inherited the wanderlust that fueled his parents adventures. A childhood bout with polio has left him crippled, but he refuses to let his disability define him. Strangers driven by a shared vision, Kate and Julian set out separately for Los Angeles, the city of dreams. There, they each struggle to find their independence. When they finally meet, the teenage runaways realize their true magicallegacy: the ability to triumph over death, and over time. But as their powerful parents before them learned, all magic comes with a price."show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 296 pages
  • 147.32 x 213.36 x 30.48mm | 430.91g
  • HOUGHTON MIFFLIN
  • Boston, MA, United States
  • English
  • 0547853149
  • 9780547853147
  • 1,175,316

Review quote

Praise for "The Elementals" "A sumptuous read, as bittersweet as it is beautiful."--Aprilynne Pike, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Wings" and "Spells" "Saundra Mitchell pulls off a thrilling conclusion to a mesmerizing series! She just gets better and better!"--Carrie Ryan, "New York Times" bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth series "Mitchell convincingly portrays the glittering, raucous L.A. of the burgeoning movie industry and the oppressive unease of looming war."--"Booklist" Praise for "The Vespertine" "[A] richly conceived historical romance. . . . Fans of Libba Bray's "A Great and Terrible Beauty" will find themselves enchanted by this atmospheric tale."--"Bulletin" "Equal parts vivid period detail, gothic melodrama, and foreboding premonitions coming true . . . an absorbing tale."--"Booklist" "Written in a passionate, inviting voice, "The Vespertine" is a rich, historical novel of otherworldly power, forbidden romance, and questionable motives."--Aprilynne Pike, "New York Times" Bestselling Author of "Wings" and "Spells" "Sheer pleasure from beginning to end."--TeenReads.com "I savored every word of "The Vespertine"; I knew it was an amazing book from the first page and I was entranced until the very last."--Carrie Ryan, "New York Times" bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth series Praise for "The Springsweet" "A lovely historical romance. . . . The author conjures a convincing picture of life on the Oklahoma prairie, painting an absorbing portrait of the landscape and of the people there. . . . A high-quality, absorbing drama."--"Kirkus Reviews" ""The Springsweet" will steal your heart. Zora is a wounded heroine who had me cheering as she rediscovers the strength she thought she'd lost. Blend in a smoldering, yet refreshingly subtle hero, and add a twist of magic and you have a perfect romance in the Old West with another of Saundra Mitchell's signature rich and nuanced historic settings!"--Aprilynne Pike, "New York Timshow more

Rating details

226 ratings
3.29 out of 5 stars
5 20% (45)
4 20% (45)
3 35% (79)
2 20% (46)
1 5% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X