Eight Detectives

Eight Detectives : The Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month

3.54 (9,292 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$15.97

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

Description

Discover the most original murder mystery which will have you guessing until the very last page . . .

'One of the year's most entertaining crime novels' SUNDAY TIMES

'When did you last read a genuinely original thriller? The wait is over' A. J. FINN, bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

'Grips like a vice' SOPHIE HANNAH

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BARRY AWARD FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL
_________

All murder mysteries follow a simple set of rules.

Grant McAllister, an author of crime fiction and professor of mathematics, once sat down and worked them all out.

But that was thirty years ago. Now he's living a life of seclusion on a quiet Mediterranean island - until Julia Hart, a sharp, ambitious editor, knocks on his door. His early work is being republished and together the two of them must revisit those old stories.

An author, hiding from his past, and an editor, probing inside it.

But as she reads the stories, Julia is unsettled to realise that there are parts that don't make sense. Intricate clues that seem to reference a real murder.

One that's remained unsolved for thirty years . . .

If Julia wants answers, she must triumph in a battle of wits with a dangerously clever adversary.

But she must tread carefully: she knows there's a mystery, but she doesn't yet realise there's already been a murder . . .
_________

**Winner of the Capital Crimes Reader Award for Debut Book of the Year**

'A box of delights . . . Pavesi's revelations are completely unexpected, right up to the end' New York Times

'This super-smart homage to the Agatha Christie tradition is a must. Stylish, ingenious and great fun' Sunday Mirror

'Has an intricacy rare in modern crime fiction. Alex Pavesi deserves huge applause for his plot, constructed with all the skill of the old masters' Sunday Express

'So, so clever. Agatha Christie would take her hat off to this one - bravo!' Sarah Pinborough, author of Behind Her Eyes

'Ingenious . . . perfect for fans of Agatha Christie' Best

'An ingenious exploration of the crime genre' Literary Review
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 22mm | 249g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1405951222
  • 9781405951227

Rating details

9,292 ratings
3.54 out of 5 stars
5 17% (1,617)
4 36% (3,359)
3 32% (2,999)
2 11% (1,017)
1 3% (300)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X