Edie in Between

Edie in Between

3.74 (35 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-14 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A modern-day Practical Magic about love, loss, and embracing the mystical.

It's been one year since Edie's mother died. But her ghost has never left.

According to her GG, it's tradition that the dead of the Mitchell family linger with the living. It's just as much a part of a Mitchell's life as brewing healing remedies or talking to plants. But Edie, whose pain over losing her mother is still fresh, has no interest in her family's legacy as local witches.

When her mother's teenage journal tumbles into her life, her family's mystical inheritance becomes once and for all too hard to ignore. It takes Edie on a scavenger hunt to find objects that once belonged to her mother, each one imbued with a different memory. Every time she touches one of these talismans, it whisks her to another entry inside the journal--where she watches her teenage mom mourn, love, and hope just as Edie herself is now doing.

But as Edie discovers, there's a dark secret behind her family's practice that she's unwittingly released. She'll have to embrace--and master--the magic she's always rejected...before it consumes her.

Tinged with a sweet romance with the spellbinding Rhia, who works at the local occult shop, Edie in Between delivers all the cozy magic a budding young witch finding her way in the world needs.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 146 x 217 x 30mm | 499g
  • VIKING BOOKS FOR YOUNG READERS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0451481143
  • 9780451481146
  • 809,849

Review quote

Praise for Edie in Between

This sweet, yet empowering YA novel is a lovely homage to family heritage and collective memory.--BuzzFeed

An engaging offering with a light paranormal touch.--Kirkus Reviews

With atmospheric writing, two lush romances and a painfully nuanced depiction of grief, Laura Sibson's Edie in Between is the Practical Magic-esque coming of age story that every witchlover needs in their lives!--The Nerd Daily


Raves for The Art of Breaking Things

The next time you think you know all about the school slut, the druggie, the vandal--think again. People are more complex than their reputations, and nowhere is that more apparent than in Laura Sibson's powerful novel about female empowerment.
--Leila Sales, author of This Song Will Save Your Life

The Art of Breaking Things is a precious and daring work; an ode to the healing powers of the creative spirit. Skye breaks your heart just before she mends it back together. From the beginning, readers will believe in Skye because of how deeply and empathetically Sibson depicts Skye's artistic vision and genuine, searching soul.
--Cordelia Jensen, author of Skyscraping and The Way the Light Bends

This book is a battle cry for the silent, scared, and shattered places inside us. Unflinching and lionhearted, this powerful novel is going to change lives and heal hearts.
--Heather Demetrios, author of Bad Romance

Sibson has created a flawed and likable narrator who attempts to work through cause and effect, shame and secrecy, avoidance and obligation. With layered nuance, the novel brings to light the impact of sexual assault and the importance of consent.... Triumphant.--Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson.--Booklist
show more

About Laura Sibson

Laura Sibson worked for years as a career counselor for undergraduates before getting her MFA from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. When she's not writing, counseling, or drinking impossibly strong coffee, you can find her running miles around her home in Philadelphia, walking her dog, or ingesting pop culture (along with great takeout) with her family.
show more

Rating details

35 ratings
3.74 out of 5 stars
5 23% (8)
4 37% (13)
3 34% (12)
2 3% (1)
1 3% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X