The Edge on the Sword

The Edge on the Sword

3.79 (1,579 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$8.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

An adventure worthy of legend, for fans of Game of Thrones and Rangers Apprentice
When fifteen-year-old AEthelflaed is suddenly and reluctantly betrothed to an ally of her father, the king, her world will never be the same. For as a noblewoman in the late 800s, she will be expected to be meek and unlearned-and Flaed is anything but meek and unlearned. Her marriage will bring peace to her land, but while her royal blood makes her a valuable asset, she is also a vulnerable target. And when enemies attack, Flaed must draw upon her skills and fight to lead her people to safety and prove her worth as a princess-and as a warrior."
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 277 pages
  • 111.25 x 170.69 x 19.56mm | 185.97g
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0142500585
  • 9780142500583
  • 1,413,059

Review Text

An adventure worthy of legend, for fans of Game of Thrones and Rangers Apprentice
When...
show more

Review quote

"Filled with exciting action [and] interesting characters." -School Library Journal"Tingle's graceful, tightly plotted narrative is...an enthralling tale. A first-rate example of historical fiction." -Booklist
show more

About Rebecca Tingle

Rebecca Tingle was born in Utah as the oldest child in a large family—three boys and five girls. After earning an M.A. in English with a medieval specialization at Brigham Young University, she went to Oxford University as a Rhodes Scholar to study Old English literature. Tingle returned home to Utah having written the first few chapters of a novel about Æthelflæd of Mercia. She worked for a year as a member of the Brigham Young University Admissions Committee before marrying Bryce Tingle, a Canadian lawyer, and moving to Calgary, Alberta. There she finished her novel, The Edge on the Sword, and began a second book, Far Traveler. Rebecca and Bryce are the parents of two daughters.
show more

Rating details

1,579 ratings
3.79 out of 5 stars
5 26% (418)
4 37% (586)
3 28% (436)
2 7% (109)
1 2% (30)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X