The Edge on the Sword

The Edge on the Sword

3.78 (1,545 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$8.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

An adventure worthy of legend, for fans of Game of Thrones and Ranger's Apprentice When fifteen-year-old AEthelflaed is suddenly and reluctantly betrothed to an ally of her father, the king, her world will never be the same. For as a noblewoman in the late 800s, she will be expected to be meek and unlearned and Flaed is anything but meek and unlearned. Her marriage will bring peace to her land, but while her royal blood makes her a valuable asset, she is also a vulnerable target. And when enemies attack, Flaed must draw upon her skills and fight to lead her people to safety and prove her worth as a princess and as a warrior."Tingle's graceful, tightly plotted narrative is . . . an enthralling tale. A first-rate example of historical fiction." Booklist

"
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 277 pages
  • 111.25 x 170.69 x 19.56mm | 185.97g
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0142500585
  • 9780142500583
  • 1,369,933

Review Text

An adventure worthy of legend, for fans of Game of Thrones and Rangers Apprentice
When...
show more

Review quote

* "In this meticulously researched novel, which alludes to Beowulf and the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle, the author brings to life the mindset and emotions of her heroine, the greatest woman in Old English military history.'" Publishers Weekly, starred review "Filled with exciting action [and] interesting characters." School Library Journal"Tingle's graceful, tightly plotted narrative is . . . an enthralling tale. A first-rate example of historical fiction." Booklist

"Tingle skillfully weaves Anglo-Saxon poetry, biography, and chronicle into the imagined adolescence of AEthelflaed, daughter of King Alfred the Great, the ninth-century English leader . . . An intelligent and suspenseful debut as they say in Anglo-Saxon, That waes good boc!" VOYA "An accurate portrayal of old England and what AEthelflaed's childhood could have been like." Children's Literature "Carefully laid nuggets of information come together in an exciting, and moving, climax." Kirkus Reviews

"
show more

About Rebecca Tingle

Rebecca Tingle was born in Utah as the oldest child in a large family three boys and five girls. After earning an M.A. in English with a medieval specialization at Brigham Young University, she went to Oxford University as a Rhodes Scholar to study Old English literature.Tingle returned home to Utah having written the first few chapters of a novel about AEthelflaedof Mercia. She worked for a year as a member of the Brigham Young University Admissions Committee before marrying Bryce Tingle, a Canadian lawyer, and moving to Calgary, Alberta. There she finished her novel, The Edge on the Sword, and began a second book, Far Traveler. Rebecca and Bryce are the parents of two daughters."
show more

Rating details

1,545 ratings
3.78 out of 5 stars
5 26% (403)
4 37% (569)
3 28% (434)
2 7% (109)
1 2% (30)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X