The Edge of the Shadows
6%
off

The Edge of the Shadows

3.65 (713 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The third novel in a haunting series from best-selling, award-winning author Elizabeth George! The first fire may have been an accident, but what about the second? And the third--the one that killed someone. Becca King and her friends wonder if one of the newcomers to the island is to blame. Perhaps it's Isis Martin's brother, Aidan, just home from a school for troubled teens. Or Parker Natalia, a talented musician fired by his bandmates for unknown reasons. Meanwhile, Becca's education in the paranormal continues, as fellow psychic Diana Kinsale encourages her to explore her growing extrasensory abilities. Beautiful Whidbey Island may seem like a tranquil haven, but all is not as it seems.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 140 x 208 x 30mm | 363g
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0147513944
  • 9780147513946
  • 1,631,527

Review quote

Praise for The Edge of the Shadows "On Whidbey Island, everyone has got a secret, and those secrets intertwine in fascinating and intricate ways. . . those who are already hooked on George's clear expository style and elegant construction will find much to enjoy." --Booklist "Readers eager to revisit the residents of Whidbey Island will find much to love here. . . Enjoyable." --School Library Journal Praise for The Edge of the Water: "A ripping good thriller." --School Library Journal "One need not have read the first book to be engrossed. . . a riveting story. . . readers will be eager for the next installment." --VOYA "Readers will remember Whidbey for decades to come. George has scored an 'A+' again. . . waiting for book number three is going to take an incredible amount of patience. Bravo!" --Suspense Magazine Praise for The Edge of Nowhere "George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy." --School Library Journal ..".strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin." --BCCB "In her first foray into YA fiction, Ms George (a beloved adult suspense novelist) has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat 'creepy' novel . . . the writing is superb from Ms. George, as always but . . . it's the combination of great characters and relationships that truly have this novel raising the bar when it comes to today's YA fiction." --Suspense Magazine

From the Hardcover edition.
show more

About Elizabeth George

Elizabeth George, described by Entertainment Weekly as "the queen of the mystery genre," is the author of the bestselling crime novels about Inspector Thomas Lynley. Her books are known for complex plotting, elegant writing, and well-developed characters, all of which she also brings to her novels for teens. The first book in the Whidbey Island saga, The Edge of Nowhere, was a finalist for both the Edgar and Agatha Awards. The second book, The Edge of the Water, and the third, The Edge of the Shadows, continue the story in the island setting, which is notable for its beauty and mystery. Elizabeth George lives on Whidbey Island. She says, "Whidbey Island deserves to be 'someone' in a story. I only hope I've done it justice." Visit Elizabeth George at www.elizabethgeorgeonline.com.
show more

Rating details

713 ratings
3.65 out of 5 stars
5 21% (149)
4 35% (246)
3 35% (251)
2 8% (55)
1 2% (12)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X