The Edge of Nowhere

The Edge of Nowhere

3.36 (3,627 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The Edgar and Agatha Award-nominated novel from #1 New York Times bestseller Elizabeth George! On Whidbey Island, nothing is as it seems. Becca's ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--has put her at risk from her criminal stepfather. So Becca escapes to Whidbey Island, where she hopes to find safety. But when a terrible accident affects everyone on the island, Becca finds herself wrapped up in a complicated situation, and she isn't the only one with a secret. This compelling coming-of-age story, the first of an ongoing sequence of books set on Whidbey Island, has elements of mystery, the paranormal, and romance. "Blending mystery, family drama, teen angst and a dose of paranormal, this novel rises above many in the young adult genre." --USATODAY.com "George has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat 'creepy' novel." --Suspense Magazine An Edgar Award Nominee
An Agatha Award Nominee
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 440 pages
  • 137.16 x 203.2 x 35.56mm | 385.55g
  • United States
  • English
  • 014242675X
  • 9780142426753
  • 1,174,152

Review Text

"Blending mystery, family drama, teen angst and a dose of paranormal, this novel rises above many in the young adult genre." -USATODAY.com

"George has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat 'creepy' novel...the writing is superb." -Suspense Magazine

"The atmosphere of rich introspection gives this series opener strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin." -BCCB

"This novel explores what people can learn about each other when they look past behavior and consider the thoughts that drive it." -LMC

"George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy." -SLJ
show more

Review quote

"Blending mystery, family drama, teen angst and a dose of paranormal, this novel rises above many in the young adult genre." --USATODAY.com "George has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat 'creepy' novel...the writing is superb." --Suspense Magazine "The atmosphere of rich introspection gives this series opener strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin." --BCCB "This novel explores what people can learn about each other when they look past behavior and consider the thoughts that drive it." --LMC "George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy." --SLJ
show more

About Elizabeth George

Elizabeth George, described by Entertainment Weekly as "the queen of the mystery genre," is the author of the bestselling crime novels about Inspector Thomas Lynley. Her books are known for complex plotting, elegant writing, and well-developed characters, all of which she also brings to her novels for teens. The first book in the Whidbey Island saga, The Edge of Nowhere, was a finalist for both the Edgar and Agatha Awards. The second book, The Edge of the Water, and the third, The Edge of the Shadows, continue the story in the island setting, which is notable for its beauty and mystery. Elizabeth George lives on Whidbey Island. She says, "Whidbey Island deserves to be 'someone' in a story. I only hope I've done it justice." Visit Elizabeth George at www.elizabethgeorgeonline.com.
show more

Rating details

3,627 ratings
3.36 out of 5 stars
5 16% (576)
4 30% (1,087)
3 34% (1,225)
2 15% (550)
1 5% (189)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X