The Echo Wife
12%
off

The Echo Wife : A dark, fast-paced unsettling domestic thriller

3.63 (25,337 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
3.63 (25,337 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

A dark and suspenseful novel of lies, betrayal, and identity - perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and Charlie Brooker's Black Mirror.

It was meant to be an evening to honour and celebrate Evelyn Caldwell's award-winning, career-making scientific research - but Evelyn has things on her mind.

Things like Nathan, her husband, who has left her for a younger, better, newer woman. A woman who is now pregnant - but shouldn't be - and is strikingly familiar. Too familiar to be a coincidence.

A woman who shouldn't exist.

The Echo Wife is a propulsive new novel from an international rising star about identity, murder, and the choices society forces women to make.

********************************

Readers LOVE The Echo Wife

'I read it in just under 24 hours, finding it hard to put down. It was deeply unsettling in places, but very intriguing'

'As well as being a generally intriguing read, there are some jaw-dropping twists and shockers that I absolutely didn't see coming, there was just so much going on in this book and I couldn't put it down'

'A powerful, tightly-written story that expertly deploys its themes of abuse, trauma and personhood. I enjoyed this immensely, and highly recommend it'

'This book is a prime example of what a psychological suspense thriller should be! By far, it's my favourite thriller read so far this year'

'I was enthralled from early on - the author littered little bits of intrigue and then delivered a great twist which meant I was hooked'
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 158 x 236 x 28mm | 440g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1529354498
  • 9781529354492
  • 1,346,850

Review Text

Looking for an out-of-the-box thinking, mind-blowing read? This book is the one for you. Pure science fiction at its very best! Original and compelling
show more

Review quote

In some ways this book is an update of the Stepford Wives * Daily Mail * An edge-of-your-seat tale . . . a unique, thrilling adventure, with truly unexpected twists and turns the whole way through * Independent * It's an unpredictable story . . . chilling . . . for an escape from our current stuck-at-home situation, The Echo Wife could be for you * Daily Record * Looking for an out-of-the-box thinking, mind-blowing read? This book is the one for you. Pure science fiction at its very best! Original and compelling * Peterborough Telegraph * The Echo Wife is a unique and thought-provoking read; with so many books adapted into films at the moment I don't think it will be long before the rights are snapped up for this one * Buzz Magazine * A dark, smart and cerebral thriller that digs deep into the ethics of cloning and our own sense of morality * Sainsburys Magazine * Looking for one of the best science fiction books wrapped up in a mystery? Look no further . . . Gloriously inventive and full of surprises * Woman & Home Online * A twisty treat * NPR, 50 Best Sci-fi and Fantasy Books of the Past Decade * Seamlessly blends domestic thriller and science fiction. This book is going to haunt my thoughts for a long time * Fonda Lee * As expertly constructed as a Patek Philippe watch * Tochi Onyebuchi *
show more

About Sarah Gailey

Hugo Award-winning and bestselling author Sarah Gailey is an internationally published writer of fiction and nonfiction. Their nonfiction has been published by Mashable and The Boston Globe, and they won a Hugo Award for Best Fan Writer. Their most recent fiction credits include Vice and The Atlantic. Their debut novella, River of Teeth, was a 2018 finalist for both the Hugo and Nebula Awards. Their bestselling adult novel debut, Magic For Liars, was published in 2019.
show more

Rating details

25,337 ratings
3.63 out of 5 stars
5 18% (4,559)
4 39% (9,949)
3 32% (8,103)
2 9% (2,252)
1 2% (474)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X