Earthsea: The First Four Books

Earthsea: The First Four Books

4.27 (8,769 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Designed by 

List price: US$24.42

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


A superb four-part fantasy, comparable with the work of Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, the "Earthsea" books follow the fortunes of the wizard Ged from his childhood to an age where magic is giving way to evil. As a young dragonlord, Ged, whose use-name is Sparrowhawk, is sent to the island of Roke to learn the true way of magic. A natural magician, Ged becomes an Archmage and helps the High Priestess Tenar escape from the labyrinth of darkness. But as the years pass, true magic and ancient ways are forced to submit to the powers of evil and death.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 704 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 30mm | 479g
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • 39. Auflage
  • 5 maps
  • 0140348034
  • 9780140348033
  • 8,143

About Ursula Le Guin

Ursula Le Guin was born in Berkley, California, in 1929, daughter of the writer Theodora Krober and the anthropologist Alfred Krober. Her published work includes twenty-one novels, eleven volumes of short stories, three collections of essays, twelve books for children, six volumes of poetry and four of translation. Among her novels are the The Left Hand of Darkness and The Dispossessed, both winners of the Nebula and Hugo awards, Always Coming Home, winner of the 1985 Kafka Award, and Four Ways to Forgiveness. In 2009 she won her sixth Nebula award for Powers. She died in January 2018 aged 88.

Penguin/Puffin published the first volume of the Earthsea books, A Wizard of Earthsea, in 1971. The Earthsea books have been translated into many languages around the world and are global bestsellers.
show more

Rating details

8,769 ratings
4.27 out of 5 stars
5 49% (4,314)
4 33% (2,918)
3 14% (1,211)
2 3% (251)
1 1% (75)

Our customer reviews

The Earthsea Quartet' is the finest collection of fantasy tales that you are ever likely to read. The magic of Le Guin's Earthsea saga begins with 'A Wizard of Earthsea', an engrossing, mesmerising and beautiful portrayal of one mages struggle with his inner-self. This tale is the birth of Ged's epic, lifelong struggle to keep the balance in the world of Earthsea. 'The Tombs of Atuan' delves into the religious psyche of the people from the Kargad Lands and how this impacts upon Sparrowhawk and the future of Earthsea. 'The Farthest Shore' explores man's strive for immortality from the perspective of men, mages and dragons. Finally, 'Tehanu' is a peaceful yet powerful tale of one disabled girls place in a world of magic, where people are not what they seem. Anyone looking to become a fan of fantasy literature must have this classic saga in their back catalogue. Comparable with Tolkien, Lewis and Feist, the Earthsea world is still Le Guin's most celebrated and illustrious piece of work; one which will set your imagination more
by T.Eveleigh
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X