The Eagle of the Ninth Collection Boxed Set

The Eagle of the Ninth Collection Boxed Set

4.19 (339 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$25.37

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The Ninth Legion marched into the mists of northern Britain ...and they were never seen again. Four thousand men disappeared and their eagle standard was lost. It's a mystery that's never been solved, until now ...So begins the story of The Eagle of the Ninth, set against a backdrop of Roman Britain and featuring a young soldier, Marcus Aquila, who sets off into the unknown north to find out what happened to the lost legion. Following on from this are The Silver Branch in which two young soldiers uncover a plot to overthrow the Emperor, and the Carnegie Medal-winning, The Lantern Bearers which is set at a time when the Romans are leaving the shores of Britain and tells of Aquila and his quest for revenge. This beautiful boxed set of these three classic stories is the perfect gift for readers young and old.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 896 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 70mm | 839.99g
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0192794728
  • 9780192794727
  • 16,203

Review quote

'This novel can be so many things to so many readers - an adventure story, a piece of historical fiction based on true results, a love story, and a novel about friendship. I found I had sympathy both with Marcus and with his enemies as they are all so convincingly described! Great for all teens wanting a tense, easy-to-read thriller!' * Sebastian Westwood, Red House *
show more

Rating details

339 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 45% (152)
4 35% (119)
3 15% (51)
2 4% (15)
1 1% (2)

Our customer reviews

I bought this boxed set for my grandchildren for Christmas, and decided to read it before them. The fascinating story of a 'lost' legion of Roman soldiers(The Eagle of the 9th) marching beyond Hadrian's Wall,during the 400 years of Roman occupation of Britain is well written. An insight into the discipline and order that the Romans brought to Britain, during their occupation, roads, law and order, the 'style' of the houses, clothing, etc, which helped to form the new people left behind by the eventual abandonment of Rome. The three books (over long time periods)'The Silver Branch' and 'The Lantern Bearers', give a depiction of the difficulties faced by the people of Britain, after the Romans have left, and the power struggles between the invading Saxons, the emerging new Britains, and the Scots tribes. I would think that the older child would find these books interesting, perhaps 12 and beyond?show more
by Janice Margaret Warne
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X