4.1 (46 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?


In this first novel set in award-winning author Marie Brennan's incomparable Driftwood fantasy universe, enter a post-apocalyptic realm where the apocalypse has not ended, where fragments of worlds cohere into shifting myths. Yet even as everything fades, Drifters gather to tell conflicting legends of Last, the guide--the one man who seemed immortal, but may have been a fraud. [STARRED REVIEW] "Exploring found family, adaptation, and hope in the face of apocalypse, Brennan imbues this high-concept fantasy with a strong emotional core. Fantasy fans will be thrilled."--Publishers Weekly

Who is Last? Fame is rare in Driftwood--it's hard to get famous if you don't stick around long enough for people to know you. But many know the guide, Last, a one-blooded survivor who has seen his world end many lifetimes ago. For Driftwood is a strange place of slow apocalypses, where continents eventually crumble into mere neighborhoods, pulled inexorably towards the center in the Crush. Cultures clash, countries fall, and everything eventually disintegrates. Within the Shreds, a rumor goes around that Last has died. Drifters come together to commemorate him. But who really was Last? Lying liar, or heroic savior? A mercenary, a charlatan, a legend? A man, an immortal--perhaps even a god? About Driftwood
Driftwood is the invention of bestselling author Marie Brennan. Mirroring the world that many people are currently living in, the Driftwood stories chronicle the struggles of survivors and outcasts to keep their worlds alive until everything changes, diminishes, and is destroyed. Driftwood is the first full-length novel in this world.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 240 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 19.05mm | 204.12g
  • United States
  • English
  • 1616963468
  • 9781616963460
  • 52,059

Review quote

[STARRED REVIEW] "Brennan (the Memoirs of Lady Trent series) plays with the concept of secondary-world fantasy with this fresh, immersive introduction to the land of Driftwood, a patchwork world where other fantasy worlds come to die. As each otherworld is pulled toward the Crush, the churning center of Driftwood where their last vestiges mix and crumble before vanishing forever, its inhabitants must adapt to life in Driftwood or disappear along with their homes. The novel's form mirrors the cobbled-together nature of its world, composed primarily of self-contained episodes unified only by the shadowy figure of Last, the sole survivor of a world that Driftwood consumed long ago. Many who pass through Driftwood seek Last's aid, desperate to preserve their cultures and stop the inevitable and believing he knows the secrets to surviving the Crush. Brennan skillfully builds a multiplicity of worlds, painting each unique and fully developed culture with bold, minimalist strokes and, though readers don't get to spend much time with any single character, rendering each member of the sprawling cast with impressive nuance and subtlety. Exploring found family, adaptation, and hope in the face of apocalypse, Brennan imbues this high-concept fantasy with a strong emotional core. Fantasy fans will be thrilled."
--Publishers Weekly "Haunting, timeless, and timely. Brennan invented Driftwood, but it feels like she discovered it."
--Max Gladstone author of The Empress of Forever [STARRED REVIEW] "A diverse cast of characters from disparate worlds, each facing their own rapidly approaching mortality, come together to memorialize a missing man--rumored to be immortal--in this new fantasy title from veteran author Brennan . . . Readers will close the cover aching to read more about Last and his world. An exciting delve into a conglomerate land filled with magic and mystery."
--Kirkus [STARRED REVIEW] "When a world ends, whatever is left arrives at the Edge, emerging from the Mist that surrounds Driftwood. As the world shrinks, slowly dying, it becomes part of the Shreds, where scraps and pieces of different worlds combine, and where the citizens are just Drifters, inhabitants of this combined place. Eventually, everything ends up in the center, called the Crush, doomed to disappear--except for the guide called Last, a person who has lived far longer than anything else has. When he, too, disappears, people gather to memorialize him or criticize him or insist he isn't dead, but whichever it is, by gathering to tell stories about Last, they form an emotional picture of who he was. Brennan's series of vignettes is complex and riveting, populated by distinct worlds, each with its own rules. One has only a devastating sandstorm; in another, memories can be shared or given away; in yet another, magnetic stones enable flight. Last holds them all together with a mystery: was he a god, a man trying to help, or a man trying to survive off others? Driftwood is epic in scale and yet rooted in satisfying detail, full of possibility and wonder."
--Booklist "Driftwood is a richly imagined and shifting place. I keep thinking about it weeks after shutting the book. This is what people mean by 'haunting.'"
--Mary Robinette Kowal, author of The Calculating Stars "Bittersweet and haunting, Brennan's story celebrates the death-defying power of love and everlasting memory."
--Karen Lord, author of Redemption in Indigo "I'll snap any forthcoming sequel up in a heartbeat."
―Smart Bitches, Trashy Books "The world building is excellent. The characters are all well developed as well. I thought this was a fantastic book."
--Book Lover's Boudoir "The writing itself is beautiful, but it is the world-building (or perhaps more correctly world-breaking) where this book really stood out."
--Beneath a Thousand Skies Praise for Marie Brennan "Smart and nuanced . . . Overwhelmingly fun and a perfectly delightful [summer] read."
―io9 on The Tropic of Serpents "Told in the style of a Victorian memoir, courageous, intelligent and determined Isabella's account is colorful, vigorous and absorbing. A sort of Victorian why-what-whodunit embellished by Brennan's singular upgrade of a fantasy bromide and revitalizingly different viewpoint."
―Kirkus Reviews on the Memoirs of Lady Trent series "Marie Brennan has written another winner, building upon the brilliance of her Lady Trent series."
―BiblioSanctum on Turning Darkness Into Light
show more

About Marie Brennan

Marie Brennan is a former anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for material. She recently misapplied her professors' hard work to Turning Darkness Into Light, a sequel to the Hugo Award-nominated Victorian adventure series The Memoirs of Lady Trent. She is the author of the Doppelganger duology of Warrior and Witch, the urban fantasies Lies and Prophecy and Chains and Memory, the Onyx Court historical fantasy series, the Varekai novellas, and nearly sixty short stories, as well as the New Worlds series of worldbuilding guides. For more information, visit www.swantower.com or @swan_tower on Twitter.
show more

Rating details

46 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 46% (21)
4 26% (12)
3 22% (10)
2 7% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X