Dreamland

Dreamland : A ghost story

3.92 (76 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 16-21 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Some nightmares never end

In his sleep, Louie starts visiting a magical world where he meets his father, who died when Louie was still a baby. But nothing turns out to be what it seems, and great horrors loom very close by ...

Welcome to Dreamland


A magical ghost story about fear, loss and losing yourself in dreams, Dreamland was originally published in Danish to great reviews, and is now available in English.


For fans of Coraline, Un Lun Dun and Alice in Wonderland, this book will appeal to young and grown-up readers alike, as it takes you on a journey both magical, mysterious and emotional.


REVIEWS

"Really awesome, well thought out and creepy."
★★★★★ Sabrina's Book Blog

"a brilliant book which I enjoyed and is well worth reading"
★★★★★ Black Books Blog

"I was glad that I got the opportunity to read this book by a brilliant author"
★★★★★ Shalini's Book Reviews


EXCERPT

"Dreamland is merely a small part of the dreamworld," his dad said. "All around us is this. I call it the outskirts. That's where nightmares come from."
Louie stared out into the wasteland and felt a growing discomfort.
"Something lives out there," his dad went on, his eyes searching the horizon. "Once in a while they come close enough to the border to be glimpsed. And if you listen carefully, you can hear their voices."
Louie held his breath and listened. The silence on this side of the edge was deep and calm, only interrupted by bird song now and then. On the other side a cold wind howled.
"Do you hear them?" his dad asked.
"I only hear the wind." But as he said it, he realized the wind was the voices. It was a chanting choir of faint fragments; whispering, giggling, alluring.
"... hi, Louuuuie ..."
"... how sweet he is ..."
"... come out here ..."
"... we've been waiting for you ..."
"... visit us, Louuuuie ..."
They kept saying his name. The sound made him shiver. The voices seemed to rise and fall with the wind, but at the same time it seemed like they came from inside his head. There was something drawing, almost hypnotic about them. Louie wanted to step closer, just so he could hear them a little more clearly ...
"Louie?"
Dad's voice pulled him back, and he looked up.
"Don't listen anymore. If you listen for too long, you end up taking the bait. The reason I show you this is so that you can understand where the voice you heard is coming from. It's the creatures out there who have been trying to reach you through your dreams."
Louie stared out into the darkness and tried to see the creatures. He thought he saw a group of glowing, wavy figures in the dark. They stood side by side, twisting in a hypnotic dance. He stepped a little closer to his dad. "What do they want with me?"
"They want to drown you in bad dreams until your mind breaks down. They will try to lure you anyway they can. They will lie and tell you anything to make you follow them. And if you do ..." Dad caught Louie's eyes. "There's no way back if they catch you ..."
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 160 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 9mm | 245g
  • English
  • 1091086583
  • 9781091086586

Rating details

76 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 22% (17)
4 55% (42)
3 16% (12)
2 5% (4)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X