Dreaming in Chocolate
10%
off

Dreaming in Chocolate : A Novel

4.09 (51 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

21 days to go
Pre-order Add to wishlist

Description

At twenty seven, Penelope Dalton is quickly ticking off items on a bucket list. Only the list isn't hers. After her eight year old daughter Ella is given just six months to live, Penelope is determined to fill Ella's remaining days with as many new experiences as she can. With an endless supply of magical gifts and recipes from the hot chocolate cafe Penelope runs alongside her mother in a small town nestled in the Appalachian Mountains, she is able to give her daughter almost everything she wants. The one sticking point is Ella's latest addition to her list: get a dad. And not just any dad. Ella has her sights set on Noah Gregory, her biological father and the only person Penelope knows to have proved her true love hot chocolate wrong. Now Noah's back in town for a few months - and as charming as ever - and the part of her that dreamed he was her fate in the first place wonders if she made the right decision to keep the truth of their daughter from him. The other, more practical part, is determined to keep him from breaking Ella's heart too. But as Ella's health declines, Penelope must give in to her fate or face a future of regrets.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 155 x 236mm
  • St Martin's Press
  • Saint Martin's Griffin,U.S.
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250089077
  • 9781250089076
  • 1,277,422

Review quote

"Come for the life-changing chocolates and opinionated apothecary table, stay for the enchanting eight-year old and complicated secrets. After reading Susan Bishop Crispell's charming Dreaming in Chocolate, you'll want to take up residence in Malarkey, sip magical hot cocoa, and change your own fate!" --Amy Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake"Dreaming in Chocolate is an endearing and beautifully spun tale of three generations of women and the enchanted chocolate shop that they share. A story of broken hearts, missed opportunities and the sometimes excruciating realities of motherhood, Susan Bishop Crispell teaches us that, even in a life surrounded by the mystical and inexplicable, sometimes, finding true love is the real magic." --Kristy Woodson Harvey, author of Slightly South of Simple"In a world where people too often lose faith in second chances, happy endings, heart's desires and homemade miracles, Susan Bishop Crispell's Dreaming in Chocolate makes me a believer again. This tender story about unthinkable loss and the strength of a family's love to bring them together as they face a future that is uncertain, is a reminder that the most powerful magic any of us possesses is hope." --Kimberly Brock, award winning author of The River Witch"Set in the world where salty caramels inspire truth telling and bittersweet truffles conjure happiness, the real magic of this warm and enchanting romance is found in the love the characters have for each other. A sweet treat for fans of Joanne Harris and Alice Hoffman." --Louise Miller, author of The City Baker's Guide to Country Living"Like a good piece of chocolate, Crispell's latest is sweet, without being cloying, and utterly satisfying. Perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen, this is a real treat of a novel." -- Colleen Oakley, author of Close Enough to Touchshow more

About Susan Bishop Crispell

SUSAN BISHOP CRISPELL earned a BFA in creative writing from the University of North Carolina--Wilmington. Susan lives and writes near Wilmington, NC with her husband and their two literary-named cats. She is the author of The Secret Ingredient of Wishes.show more

Rating details

51 ratings
4.09 out of 5 stars
5 33% (17)
4 49% (25)
3 12% (6)
2 6% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X