The Dream Weaver

The Dream Weaver

4.37 (117 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Lovely and empowering." --Ashley Herring Blake, author of the Stonewall Honor-winning Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World Twelve-year-old Zoey navigates the tricky waters of friendship while looking for a way to save her grandfather's struggling business in this "heartfelt" (Kirkus Reviews) debut novel perfect for fans of Kristi Wientge, Donna Gephart, and Meg Medina. Zoey comes from a family of dreamers. From start-up companies to selling motorcycles, her dad is constantly chasing jobs that never seem to work out. As for Zoey, she's willing to go along with whatever grand plans her dad dreams up--even if it means never staying in one place long enough to make real friends. Her family being together is all that matters to her. So Zoey's world is turned upside down when Dad announces that he's heading to a new job in New York City without her. Instead, Zoey and her older brother, José, will stay with their Poppy at the Jersey Shore. At first, Zoey feels as lost and alone as she did after her mami died. But soon she's distracted by an even bigger problem: the bowling alley that Poppy has owned for decades is in danger of closing! After befriending a group of kids practicing for a summer bowling tournament, Zoey hatches a grand plan of her own to save the bowling alley. It seems like she's found the perfect way to weave everyone's dreams together...until unexpected events turn Zoey's plan into one giant nightmare. Now, with her new friends counting on her and her family's happiness hanging in the balance, Zoey will have to decide what her dream is--and how hard she's willing to fight for it.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 130 x 194 x 17mm
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • f-c matte cvr (spfx: spot gloss)
  • 1534462325
  • 9781534462328

Review quote

"A heartfelt debut novel rooted in the importance of family ties, the bonds of friendship, and bowling."--Kirkus Reviews
show more

About Reina Luz Alegre

Reina Luz Alegre lives in the Miami area with her family. She's dreamed of becoming an author since the second grade, and grew up to work on various other professional dreams--including as a freelance journalist and lawyer--before debuting her first novel, The Dream Weaver. When she's not writing, Reina loves to read, sing, and salivate over baking shows. Follow her on Twitter at @ReinaLuzAlegre.
show more

Rating details

117 ratings
4.37 out of 5 stars
5 50% (59)
4 38% (45)
3 9% (10)
2 3% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X